Sent to Malaysia, Netherlands, Russia, and the United States

Four copies of my very favorite card going out into the world!

postcard031

No, as a matter of fact, this is NOT getting ridiculous; how DARE you?

One goes via Postcrossing.  A card I’d sent to Helsinki, Finland arrived (traveling 17 days and 5,430 miles), and so now I am able mail out another card!  This one will go to Chelyabinsk, Russia.  In 2013, I learned, a meteor exploded over the city, injuring well over a thousand people.  There’s a very odd little animation at the Chelyabinsk Wikipedia page, comparing the sizes of the meteor & a car.  None of which, of course, has anything to do with postcards.

The next two are via swap-bot: one to Muar, Johor, Malaysia, and the other to Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands.  They are both for a trade in which we are to complete the sentence, “if money wasn’t a problem, I’d…”  My answer, of course, was TRAVEL.  Heck, my passport would need extra pages!  And I’m sure that with enough money, travel authorities could be persuaded to look the other way and let me take my dog everywhere with me!  And even recline her seat on the plane!

The last card goes to Wexford, Pennsylvania, and not by Postcrossing or swap-bot.  In my occasional search for other blogs concerning the art & joy of snail mail, I’ve run across The Orphaned Postcard Project, a site where the administrator attempts to pair potential correspondents with postcards she already owns.  She mails them a blank card, they mail it back… I’ll let you go over & read the details of this fascinating project yourself, but I definitely intend on taking part soon!  Today, a card went out her way to serve as an entry in a book giveaway she is running.

I do want to share some musings I read on that site, though, as they mirror some feelings I’ve been having in my short time being involved with these snail mail projects.

I’m always thrilled when the card comes back with a first hand experience relating to the card subject, but it is also fun to get a card back with a message that might have nothing to do with the card, but is instead related to something quite topical to the sender’s day. I am puzzled when people request cards and return them with just “here is your card back” type messages. That sort of defeats the whole purpose of connecting a blank card to a real person. It is also frustrating to get the cards back with wikipedia-type entries written on the back. I always do my own research and will probably read the same thing anyway. Give me something fun to write about!

Yes!  Too often, I’ll get a card with basically nothing written on it: something like, “hope you like this card,” or, “ugh, it’s hot here,” or “happy swapping.”  I’ve said it before: I am not in this to collect stamps or postcards, and I think only people who are in it strictly for those reasons don’t care about the lack of effort put into the written side of the card.  I put effort into what I write on the cards I send.  In the end, perhaps that is the most I can get out of this project: that which I myself put into it.

3 thoughts on “Sent to Malaysia, Netherlands, Russia, and the United States

  1. I have the same feelings about mail meaning “personal” but saying nothing… 😦
    I have participated five or six times in the Orphaned Postcard Project, and I assure you it’s worth taking part of Postmuse’s project!

    Like

Leave a Reply

