Sent to Belgium, Ireland & U.S.A.

Four going out on a swap-bot “illustrated postcard” trade; I’ve dipped back into my big box (but no-longer bottomless box) ‘o’ old book cover postcards to select these:

postcard037

Working clockwise from the top left:

The coyote card is going out to Tongeren, Belgium, where the recipient declares herself to be a passionate reader, so I touched upon the 5 or so books I am currently reading.  The book pictured on this card, by the way–A Coyote’s in the House–was written by Elmore Leonard, so perhaps I should add it to my to-read list!

The Charlotte’s Web card will eventually land in Dublin, Ireland.  Seeing this book cover made me think of the animated film, and I ended up telling my card’s recipient about my love for movie-going, my snarky movie “review” blog, and the two current movies I’m very interested in seeing: “Dear White People,” and “Book of Life.”

The card at bottom right goes to Richfield, Wisconsin.  The recipient’s profile makes her seem like the type of life-lover who would enjoy receiving just about anything, but she did specifically mention the fantasy genre in her list someplace, and this seemed to fit. I stayed on my “Book of Life” thought, and mentioned how much I enjoy Día de los Muertos, and have attended the huge annual community celebration in Oakland, California many times–though I always go early to, you know, avoid the crowd.

Finally, there’s the Treasure Island card, which is going out to Denton, Texas.  The person getting this card said she likes pirate postcards, and she happens to have written a historical novel involving pirates, so I thought this was a pretty safe–and good–choice.

Leave a Reply

