Received from Korea, Netherlands, and the United States

Five postcards in two days, through both Postcrossing & swap-bot.

postcard051

This first pair comes from Netherlands.  The card with the colored pencils comes from Holland via Postcrossing, and the sender tells me she chose it because “it’s a part of toys.”  That confuses me, since colored pencils are actually art implements, and the user, in her profile, describes herself as an artist.  Ah, well!

Speaking  of art, you can probably guess that the image on the card to the right is a work by Christo.  It’s part of a swap-bot “art postcard” exchange.  The sender says she chose this for me because I like humor.

Moving on to the next set of cards:

postcard053

At top left, from St. Paul, Minnesota, is something that came as part of a swap-bot “chunk-o-cardboard” trade. The sender insists she did NOT eat Little Debbie chocolate cupcakes, saying, “I hate the awful frosting.” I don’t know if I’ve ever eaten a product by that manufacturer, but if they are anything like Hostess, both the frosting AND the cake are filthsome.  The sender tells me what she bought were the “banana cakes and banana pudding rolls.”

That great stone dragon comes my way from Korea, thanks to Postcrossing. The sender writes, in part: “Do you like Korean food? There are many delicious food in Korea!!”  I do agree.  Makes me want to go out & get some right now, at 9:30 in the morning.  You know my favorite thing about going out for Korean food?  All the tiny plates of panchan.  Yum.

Finally there is the beach scene, which seems to have taken a beating in the post.  It comes to me from Capelle aan den IJssel, Netherlands, in a swap-bot “if money weren’t a problem, I’d…” trade.  The sender’s fantasy list includes employing housekeepers & handymen.  Some things are universal.

Cool stamps all around:

postcard051a

postcard053a

Leave a Reply

