Sent to Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Turkey, Ukraine and United Kingdom

A busy day for me on Postcrossing: I let  several of my cards arrive before I replaced them with new cards out, so that I could save a bit of time (in theory) by sending out many cards in one shot.  Six going out today–and a couple of very interesting (you know how I am using that word, right?) recipients for this lot–but let’s get to that in a minute.

2014-12-26 10.26.00

Nope, not a single one of my own silly photo cards going out in this lot. Didn’t seem like the crowd for that.

Oh, wait: this first card goes to one of those “interesting” people!  It’s the book card, going out to Surrey, U.K., chosen because the Postcrosser says she would like cards with “books, or pictures of people reading, or postcards from libraries.” I think it would be so cool if the libraries I use would sell postcards featuring scenes from their facilities!  But I did happen to have this book card, and on it goes.  What makes this recipient interesting-in-quotes is the extensive part of her profile, where she lists expired cards (those she has sent out, that were never registered by their intended recipients), by number, user name, country, and date.  Thirty-five cards, going back to 2011, and this person calling out recipients by name.  Did she ever consider the idea that her local post may be a bit incompetent?

The Box of Delights goes to Utrecht, Netherlands, where its target expresses an interest in “postcards with images that are about enchanted, magical, mysterious, mystical creatures or places; illustrations from fairy tales.” Close enough, I figure!  This Netherlander recently moved from the U.S.  If I were to move elsewhere, it would have to be closer to the Equator. Heck, I don’t even have to leave the country to do that; Hawaii would do!

The Highway One card will wind its way to Zabrze, Poland, where the user expressed an interest in landscapes.  I love taking this road through Big Sur.  Gorgeous.  Even better if you don’t have to be the driver.

Heidi is going to Oelde, Germany.  The Postcrosser said she likes classic books, and I figured maybe she’d like this card.  She also says she likes chocolate, so I am sure she is a lovely person.  Seriously: the only person I can think of who talks a lot about disliking chocolate is not really a lovely person.

The map card goes to someone in Kyiv, Ukraine who said she would like a map card.  Look at the size of that surfer–and the quail that looks big enough to eat him!

Okay, here we go.  Last card.  This is a very interesting Postcrosser.  Excuse me, not interesting–“interesting.” Istanbul, Turkey, by the way.  Sharing no more than 12 words directly about himself, he launched into a wish list that would make Santa blush:

“(((I request…please DONOT send me any cards related with New Year or Christmas)))

”PLEASE SEND ME YOUR CARDS IN AN ENVELOPE! ”

I’m a banknote and Mini Sheet stamp and Starbucks gift card collector from Turkey…

it will be a great pleasure for me to receive a card from a friend with whom I’ve never met before..please write a short detail about yourself on your postcard..if you put a banknote sample or miniature sheet stamp or any Starbucks gift card of your country in your envelope I’d be appreciated 🙂

****DEAR USERS AS SOON AS I SEE AN UNCIRCULATED BANKNOTE AS WITH A POSTCARD FOR MY COLLECTION IN YOUR LETTER I WILL REPLY AS 15 DIFFERENT TURKISH POSTCARDS JUST TO SHOW MY PLEASURE***

my preferences ;

Babillon Gardens
Chichen Itza
Despicable Me especially MINIONS for my son
Elizabeth Taylor
Greta Garbo
Katmandu
Labrador Sea
Lady Plays Violin
Machu Picchu
NUDITY ( both modern and vintage )
Panama Channel
Patsy Cline
Soviet-era propaganda cards
The most beautiful lady of your country

PLEASE NO HANDMADE , ADVERTORIAL AND PAINTING POSTCARDS!!!

***************************************************
Ps: Anyone who sents me any banknotes in very well condition belong to the countries below will receive 30 different beautiful postcards from me !!

Oof, oof, oof.  Needless to say, I gave him nothing he wanted (though I found myself briefly wishing I had a fully-used Starbucks card around).  The card I sent–which I like very much–is by a Turkish artist, and I did not put it in an envelope.  I did, though, attach a fun strip of washi tape and a cool ink-stamed image!  What I wanted to do was withdraw this fella from my “send-to” draw, but I didn’t see that option. Net win for him.

Any postcard drama in YOUR life lately?

Leave a Reply

