Received from Australia, Malaysia, and the United States

TONS of cards coming in lately.

postcard212

The painting is Peasant Wedding by Pieter Bruegel the Elder (known to his confidantes as “Marblez”). The card was sent to me by a Postcrosser in , in a trip that took 7,877 miles and 26 days.  The sender writes:

“It is the beginning of Autumn here now.  I love the cooler evenings, and the myriad colours of the leaves on the trees.  I love to read too, mostly historical novels, such as Ken Follett’s ‘The Pillars of the Earth‘ and ‘A Tale of Two Cities‘ by Charles Dickens”

The agricultural scene depicts, as the back of that card states, “hand-clipping the tea bushes at Cameron Bharat plantation.”  This postcard was sent to me from Ipoh, Malaysia, and the sender drew a little sun with “34C” next to it, which my metric-to-U.S. translator tells me equals 93.2 degrees Fahrenheit!  It’s no surprise, then, when this swap-bot member tells me, “we occasionally drive up to Cameron Highlands for a cool retreat.”  Lonely Planet tells me that in Cameron Highlands, “the temperature rarely drops below 10°C (50F) or climbs above 21°C (69.8F); practically cool enough to make you forget you’re in Malaysia.”  Brrr!

The last card comes to me from Maryland, in a swap-bot trade called “squeeze it in,” and this guy was able to manage about 18 lines of text.  I’ll share the fact he is reading Gilded Lives, Fatal Voyage: The Titanic’s First-Class Passengers and Their World, by Hugh Brewster (known by his lacrosse buddies as “Brew Hughster”).

Stamps!  Uh-oh, be careful: I spy, with my little eye, that O.D.B. James Cook!  The flowers & birds are nice, though.

postcard213

Leave a Reply

