A Beautiful Handful: Received from Canada, China, Taiwan, and the United States

Love this batch!  Working clockwise-ish from the top left:

postcard248a

The “Thirsty Beaver” seems to have come from a beer box, and is part of a swap-bot “chunk-o-cardboard” trade–one of my favorites!  The sender, from somewhere near Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, tells me my toy photography inspired her to take a toy out on the beach for a photo shoot.  I love that!

The dessert dumplings came to me as part of a Postcrossing Forum trade called “anime-wishlist tag,” in which one person is to send an anime card, the next something from the previous poster’s wish list, etc.  My wish list included Asian foods, and so here we are.  It came to me from Fuzhou, China, and the sender tells me:

“This is yuanxiao 元宵.  We eat them in the Lantern Festival 元宵节.  It’s the special food for the festival…I like Chinese food, especially dumplings 饺子 and noodles 面条.  How about you?”

Oh, yes!

Those beautiful spotted jellies, on a card from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, were sent to me from Davis, California.  This was for a swap-bot “what are you reading” trade, and she said she is reading The Goldfinch for book club this month, and she is not far enough in yet to be grabbed by it. Now, the book won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2014, but a prize sticker on a book is by absolutely no means any guarantee that a person is going to find it enjoyable.  There are many prize-winners I just love, but I’ve got to say that this blurb:

The Goldfinch is a mesmerizing, stay-up-all-night and tell-all-your-friends triumph, an old-fashioned story of loss and obsession, survival and self-invention, and the ruthless machinations of fate.

…makes my eyes roll so hard that my head sounds like a billiard room!

The card’s sender also tells me that she is “listening to Balducci’s Last Man Standing–THAT grabs you!

I love that “Snoopy and his friends” card, which came to me from Taoyuan City, Taiwan, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum “Snoopy/Peanuts” tag.  Peanuts cards are tough to get here in the U.S.; in fact the only ones I have to send–one of which I used to send out in this tag trade–I bought in Bangkok, Thailand at the Charlie Brown Cafe!  And I would be happy to go there & buy some more. Don’t know why there are not postcards to be found generally here, but it does seem that the bigger market for an expanded array of Peanuts goods is outside the U.S.

Lastly, there is that beautiful scenery from Gulangyu Islet in China’s Fujian province.  Be sure to make the image large so that you may see what’s going on.  It’ probably not good that a hole seems to have been blasted through that mountain–but I do think I’d enjoy taking that sky ride on through! This card came to me through a regular Postcrossing draw, from a sender in “Tianjin, a beautiful city in China.”

Stamps!

postcard249

Leave a Reply

