Wherein I Encounter the Coolest Stamp Ever: Received from France, Netherlands, & Portugal

3 Postcrossing arrivals in a day–whoa!

postcard264

Received from Paris, France, after a trip of 21 days and 5,563 miles, it’s that classic Moulin Rouge image. I’ll show you the stamp at the bottom of this post, but I did not scan my very favorite part of this piece of mail: 3 puffy owl stickers, including one which depicts the owl holding a cup of coffee over a saucer & saying, “HOO HOO.” Charming, no?

The coffee grinders came to me from Enschede, Netherlands, after a trip of 11 days & 5,515 miles. The sender tells me, “I don’t drink coffee, I love tea. Cold or warm, spicy or white. I enjoy it with my dinners.”  Spicy or white? That stamp, though.  It is my favorite bit of this whole pile of mail–YES, I like it even better than the owl holding a cup of coffee over a saucer & saying, “HOO HOO.”

The card that says “Portugal” comes from Portugal–Amarante, Portugal–and it took 10 days to travel the 5,580 miles to get to me.  The sender tells me that building by the river is the  Monastery of São Gonçalo.

Ready to see the stamp?

postcard265

Now, I really like the wildcat stamp, but it’s the JOHNNY BRAVO stamp that really wowed me! Now, that woman in Johnny’s shadow–it seemed to me she looked an awful lot like Shirley Temple Black, but my web search for “Shirley Temple stamp Netherlands” got me nowhere. Ah, well.

2 thoughts on “Wherein I Encounter the Coolest Stamp Ever: Received from France, Netherlands, & Portugal

Leave a Reply

