Not what they seem: Received from Slovakia, Taiwan & the United States

“Touristy”-type postcards today, maybe not sent from the places they might indicate:


postcard297

When I saw that Georgia card, with glittery lettering & background that barely register in this scan, I assumed it was from a swap-bot tacky postcard trade.  Nope!  It was for one called “not my state, not yours.” The sender lives closer to Richmond, Virginia.  She writes:

“We like to visit a small mountain town in GA named Helen.  It is a bit cheesy, but it is modeled after a Bavarian village.”

I know what she is talking about.  I don’t know Helen, but here in California, we have our own cheesy town: Solvang.

That New York postcard, which you can see sports an old photo of the city, is another “not my state” arrival, this one from someone near Seattle, Washington.  The sender writes:

“I would say I have never been to NY but technically I have–only saw the inside of the NYC Greyhound station about 2 in the morning.  I will visit someday.”

Brr… the snowy card comes from Kežmarok, Slovakia, from a 15-year-old Postcrosser who writes,

“I like skiing and hockey.  I like geology and history too.  I collect minerals and fossils.  My best item is the skull of cave bear.”

Finally, from Kaohsiung, Taiwan, comes that postcard of Angkor Wat.  This is the most complicated lineage of a postcard today: it’s a postcard of Cambodia, sent from Taiwan, by a person who bought it in Vietnam!  The sender tells me that, and then really catches my interest:

“Taiwan’s food is so delicious. I like it so much.”

Stamps & stuff…

postcard298

Leave a Reply

