Food & Clothing: Received from Australia, China, & Russia

An interesting day at the mail box!

postcard313ab

The table of food came from a Postcrosser in Sosnovyy Bor, Russia, who writes (in part): “Do you like Russian cuisine?  Have you tasted ‘pelmeni?’ It’s very delicious Russian food…Good luck and Bon Appetit!!” The card includes a recipe–in Russian.  I looked up this dish, which looks like tortellini, and here’s what I found out about these dumplings:

The dough is made from flour and water, sometimes adding a small portion of eggs. The filling can be minced meat (pork, lamb, beef, or any other kind of meat), fish, or mushrooms. The mixing together of different kinds of meat is also popular. Thetraditional Udmurt recipe requires a mixture of 45% beef, 35% mutton, and 20% pork. Pelmeni in Perm (west of the Ural Mountains) are often filled with mushrooms, onions, and turnips instead of meat.Various spices, such as black pepper and onions, are mixed into the filling. –Wikipedia

A Postcrosser in Zhangzhou, China sent me the gotochi card depicting “China traditional costumes.” I know it is a gotochi card, because that’s what the sender told me!  It’s my first, I believe, & I think it’s very cool.  It is very large, and die-cut. The sender tells me she bought it from the Forbidden City in Beijing.

A swap-bot member someplace in Australia sent me a laminated section of a cookie box! This is yet another bit of recycling received through a “chunk of cardboard” trade, and I just thought it was so funny & cool to receive a laminated card.  The sender tells me:

“In Australia, cookies don’t typically come in boxes, and also the ‘street art’ visual style is unique–cookies here don’t typically try to be ”cool.’ The actual cookies aren’t amazing, but hey at least the packaging is neat.”

In rating the swap, I shared my enthusiasm over the surprise of receiving a laminated card.  The sender responded:

“I had another swap postcard arrive laminated, and it was just perfect because it was a rainy day! So I thought that was a brilliant idea, and the cardboardy postcards needed a bit of extra support.”

Stamps, stickers, postmarks & stuff:

postcard316a

Leave a Reply

