It All Starts with a Couple of Bowls: Received from China, Japan, Lithuania, & Singapore

Lots of Postcrossing here.  I really love the two tasty ones!

2015-09-29 06.40.17-2

The cartoon bowl has got to be one of my all-time favorites.  It came from Sendai, Japan, in a journey of 10 days & 5,012 miles.  The sender writes,

(In Sendai,) we have lots of nature, delicious foods especially rice, fruits, and vegetables…In Japan, there’re lots of bowl-style foods.  Do you know how many styles way to eat rice cake? The answer is 200.

The bowl of food without a face comes from Chongqing, China, not a postcrossing draw–we’ll I’m not her draw, but she’s mine!  I drew her, and have had a card allegedly traveling her way 99 days as of this writing.  When I contacted her at the 60-day mark, and sent a new card (which also, I guess, has not arrived), she rewarded my efforts by sending this delicious card.  She writes of the dish on her card:

This card is a delicious food called ‘cold noodles with chicken shreds.’ This food is a little spicy, or maybe not a little spicy for you guys.”

The American art (Subway, by Jacob Lawrence) came from Singapore, a trip of 8,469 miles over 23 days.  The sender does mention food: that she is craving wonton noodles (at 11:40 p.m.), and that she has an eating disorder called ARFID.  I had to look that up.

Finally, a few nice views from Kuršių Nerija National Park in Lithuania, on a card that took 22 days to travel the 5,674 miles to my mailbox.  The 16-year-old high-school freshman says she trying to learn some Spanish:

I’m learning it from a phone app, so I don’t know how it’s gonna work.

Stamps & postmarks! So many great stamps here.

2015-09-29 06.47.23

Leave a Reply

