Update on a **#%^ Cipher, and, Sent to Belarus, China, Netherlands, and Taiwan

Let’s start with an UPDATE!  You know that one post from last week?  Yes, that’s the one: the one about that cipher Postcrosser in Germany who provided zero profile, zero favorites, zero way of getting to know her or to know what to send or say to her.  Well, she got the card I sent her!  I reprint the entire message she sent me between the two lines below:



Yes, you read that correctly: she wrote absolutely nothing in the “Hooray message” that would normally contain a little thank you.  So we have here someone who put zero effort into Postcrossing, sucking all fun & enrichment out of the (non-)encounter, for this user at least.

Hey, I just thought of what I should have done as far as a message on her card, rather than the minimalist note I described in my original post!  If I had it to do over again, I would have printed out my own profile, & pasted that to my card, so she could have an example of a user profile!

This does not end poorly, actually. I got a second automated e-mail from Postcrossing about the card I sent to Cipher: a user in France added it to her wall of favorites!

postcard329ba

Okay, now for the current slew of postcards, counter-clockwise from the top left.

The elephant seal is bound for Gomel, Belarus, where the Postcrosser professed a love of nature.  If you ever find yourself on California’s Highway One just south of Big Sur, you have got to stop at Piedras Blancas and see the hordes of elephant seals, the crowd a bit different at every time of the year.  Until you can make that journey, you can peek in at them via webcam!

The alphabet will end up, I hope, in Den Helder, Netherlands, with a Postcrosser who said she enjoys alphabet & letter cards.  Happy to find a good home for this, one of the few cards I have left from the big box ‘o book cover postcards which was all had to rely on when I first started Postcrossing a bit over a year ago.

That wonderful tiger (who, as it happens, was photographed not far from San Simeon) is on its way to Shandong, China, to someone who says he likes to collect stamps.  The card has four different stamps, all very nice, I think.

Finally, there is the recycling.  The box labeled It’s-It goes to Taoyan, Taiwan, in a Postcrossing Forum food package postcard tag.  The It’s-It factory is quite close to San Francisco International airport in the city of Burlingame.  No tours, but there is a factory store, where they sell some varieties of the ice cream sandwich I’ve never seen in stores–and also mugs & t-shirts, of course.  On my first visit, I bought a mug–and also a cooler fulla sammiches. You see this postcard is hacked not from a sandwich package, but from the box for a special product made of two components from the sandwich: the crispy oatmeal cookie, and the chocolate dip.  Wonderful stuff.

Leave a Reply

