One of These Things is Not Like the Other: Received from China & Japan

Not-quite mirror images, thanks to a couple of Postcrossing Forum tag trades:

Postcard389

Can’t really tell from the scan, but “Happy New Year,” Woodstock, & Snoopy on the left are all embossed in a golden foil.  Shiny!

 

Snoopy–that’s the card on the left–came to me from near Hamamatsu, Japan.  The sender tells me that Japanese New Year’s cards like this are called nengajo.  Wikipedia tells us:

Japanese people send these postcards so that they arrive on 1 January. The post office guarantees to deliver the greeting postcards on 1 January if they are posted within a time limit, from mid-December to near the end of the month and are marked with the word nengajō. To deliver these cards on time, the post office usually hires students part-time to help deliver the letters.

Yeah, we’ve been through this before–I think New Year’s cards are a GREAT idea, and I have been known to send them myself–when I can find the cards.  Why don’t we have Snoopy New Year’s postcards (or any Snoopy postcards, basically) here in the U.S.?

Perhaps Snoopy postcards are not available in Zhangjiakou, China, either.  Instead, I got the card on the right, which purports to be, as you may be able to make out, a “commemoration for the 65th anniversary of Snoopy tour in China.”  Now, a lot of new licensed art for the Peanuts characters has dipped in quality, but this could not possibly have made the cut.  Yes, I think it’s safe to say it’s a bootleg.  And you know what?  I’m still quite happy to add it to my slowly-growing collection of Snoopy postcards (this month being displayed around the wreath on my fireplace).  The card’s sender tells me, “Snoopy company me long time,” which I assume means that s/he is a life-long fan.  Well, me, too!

Stamps, washi tape, postmarks–there was so much going on with the back of these two cards, I tried to preserve as much of it as possible:

Postcard390

Leave a Reply

