Personally Impersonal–but Mostly Impersonal: Received from Brazil, Germany, & the United States

Postcard407

I’ve got an issue, & you know I’ll get to it, but let’s start with the two top postcards:

Do you see that funky card?  It’s postmarked from San Francisco, California, and is mine thanks to a swap-bot trade of “ad/free” postcards.  This one had been printed on both sides, so the sender affixed labels for her message & my address.  She writes, “…I’ve never actually tuned in to this program–I’ll have to give it a try!”  I haven’t heard it either, though I have tuned in to the station.

The cloudy view is from Hamburg, Germany, via Postcrossing.  The sender writes, “…in front you see Blaukeuese, a western area of Hamburg.  It is a former fishing village which in 1301 documented the first time was mentioned.”

Okay, here we go.  The card on the bottom, from São Paulo, Brazil.  It’s apparently from a Postcrosser with whom I’ve had postcard interaction in one direction or the other.  Let’s flip it over:

Postcard409

SOOOO much empty space, waiting to be filled.  What is that pasted over on the left side?

Hmm… let’s take a closer look at the text:

Postcard409a

“Hi,” yourself!

How nice it is to stay connected?  Sincere?  A bond?!?  I have had pizza advertisement fall from out of my newspaper that seemed more heartfelt & personal than this!  I’m afraid that if you do not actually write a single thing on your postcard, you have not made any connection at all.  All of that empty space makes me weep, figuratively speaking (this reminds me of a certain swap-botter from whom I received another cold postcard this week, but I’ll address that in a later post, if my heart can handle it).

It is a crazy world.

Stampy bits:

Postcard408

One thought on “Personally Impersonal–but Mostly Impersonal: Received from Brazil, Germany, & the United States

Leave a Reply

