Crunch-tastic: Received from Taiwan & the United States

The latest mail brought a train, and a ship’s crew!

Postcard421

Let’s start aboard the ship, for an arrival through swap-bot’s chunk of cardboard trade, from a fellow swapper somewhere near Trenton, New Jersey.  I have mentioned many times here how much I enjoy making & receiving postcards from recyclables–it’s just fun.  Cereal boxes, I think, make for great postcards, and I’ve repurposed them in this way since way before I’d ever heard of such amazing things as swap-bot & Postcrossing.  The sender of this card wished me a Happy New Year, and tells me she has set a goal for herself to write or take a photograph each day.

The train card came from Taipei, Taiwan, via a Postcrossing Forum “Taiwan Meets the World” trade, in which Taiwan is Taiwan, and I am the world.  I would nitpick about the lack of a message on the back of the card, but for two things: first, the sender admits in his profile that his English is bad; and second, this card, which from the rear reminds me of the outline of a manatee, is so small, and the manufacturer has printed an image all over the space not allocated for the stamps & address.  It negates the whole purpose of sending a postcard!  I have reprinted the entire card below, omitting only the address & user name.

Postcard422

(Great stamps, BTW)

Leave a Reply

