If I Could Eat a Postcard: Received from China & Malaysia

I received a couple of REALLY tasty postcards this week:

 

Postcard442

A Postcrosser in Xiamen, Fujian, China sent me that Tian Jin crepe, the Jian Bing Guo Zi.  She wrote the postcard while enjoying some time in Xiamen Botanical Garden!  She tells me the park offers “really fresh air & beautiful views.”  I enjoy visiting botanical gardens when I travel, so I need to put Xiamen & its garden on the list.

Now about that jian bing guo zi: the sight of that made me need to find where I could get some, as soon as possible, close to home!  The very next day I was in Oakland’s Chinatown, at Tian Jin Dumplings, AKA “the dumpling window,” as it is not a walk-in restaurant, but merely a window along the street, which you might miss if you walk too briskly & are not paying attention.  I’ve been here previously, for the dumplings & bao, but this time it was all about the jian bing.  Here it is:

2016-02-05 11.58.39

I hear there is a bubble tea place in my own city that counts this dish among its offerings–we’ll see about that, at some point.

As for that card full of delicious fruit, it comes to me from Kota Kinabulu, Malaysia.  This was the first card sent out by a brand-new Postcrosser, and she listed every single fruit on the card!  She also tells me:

“My favorite fruit would be durian though it’s famous for its aroma/stench, haha.  Recently I ate some by the roadside fruit stall and boy it was good!”

Durians are the spiky things in the middle of the photo; two are complete, one is open, showing its tender insides.  Durian is known as “the king of fruits!”  Another saying for the fruit is “smells like hell, tastes like heaven!” And there are many places that do not allow the stuff on public transport (Singapore, for one).  It’s really tasty fresh, but just wait for that first burp…

Stamps, postmark, sticker, sketch: I like them all!  Can’t stop poking that puffy panda…

Postcard443

Leave a Reply

