Gel Pens on a Deep, Bright-Red Background: Received from China, Germany, Netherlands, & the U.S.

A handful of various cards I received & scanned some time ago, but have forgotten to post…

postcard460a

That card made from a cereal box comes from a swap-bot member in Hamburg, Germany, thanks to my beloved chunk-of-cardboard trade for postcards made from chunks of cardboard.  The sender writes that this is from one of his favorite cereals:

“It’s called ‘Toppas’ and is made by Kellogg’s.  Do they have it in the U.S. as well or is it a German/European thing?  It’s similar to UK Shredded Wheat Bitesize but filled with chocolate.” 

I wonder whether he went in for the free bowl with built-in straw.

That squirrel-and-sprinkles card is another “chunk.”  The sender is somewhere near Zwijendrecht, Netherlands, and tells me:

“This is very small pieces of chocolate that you can put on your slice of bread.  Not only eaten by children.  On the back side of the package there are some puzzles.”

In my thank you message to her, I said that I see products like this in the European aisle of my local Asian supermarkets.  She was shocked–shocked–that toast sprinkles are not a “thing” here in the states.  I will say as many times as I’ve seen these things at the 99 Ranch 99, I have never been tempted to try them.

The mountains are more swap-bot, this time for a trade entitled, “I wish I was where?”  The scene is Mount Katahdin in Maine, and the swapper lives somewhere in Maine.  She writes:

“This is one of my favorite places in the whole world!  …I have climbed Mt. Katahdin 6 times.  We are planning a hike this summer!”

Candied cherries.  Yes, it’s a chunk, but we are on to Postcrossing Forums now, for a Food Package Postcard tag trade.  The sender lives in Xiamen,China.  Props to the postal workers across the word who managed to get this to me, because she wrote & addressed it with colored gel pens on a deep, bright-red background, and I am straining my eyes like crazy to read it!  Here’s what she says about the package itself:

“This is chocolate from Ukraine because our technical instruct is from Ukraine.  This is a gift from him.  Hope you like it.”

Finally, from Beijing, China, comes this batch’s only regular Postcrossing card.  I have no idea what’s going on, because no English description, and the sender only writes, “Hello, Greetings from Beijing China,” with the date and his name.  I assumed he was a brand-new user, until I saw on his profile that he has been Postcrossing for about 4 years, and has sent out 785 postcards.  In case you have never read my opinions about this kind of thing here before, I will stick to the tl/dr version for now: I AM NOT IMPRESSED.

Lots of nice things to see down in the stamp zone:

postcard461

Leave a Reply

