Triple Delight: Sent to Indonesia, Russia, & Singapore

Two new Postcrossing draws this time, plus a private send!

postcard481

The Boca packaging goes to my postcard pal in Bekasi Utara, Indonesia, who likes food package postcards.  For her album, she requests that the cards be cut to 10 x 15 centimeters.  I entered that into my “translate into United States-lish,” and found that she is asking for 4 x 6 -inch cards.  On the back, I told her how we had just marked my favorite holiday: Spring Forward, or the onset of Daylight Savings Time.  I wait throughout the winter, not just for spring, but for the return of the evening sun.  I am delighted!

I’m also delighted to be assigned a Postcrossing card to Singapore, which is where I am sending that rabbit card (the recipient loves rabbits, so I was happy to have this card to send her).  I really enjoyed the time I spent in her country a few years back: warm weather, tropical beauty, and delicious food!  I hope to return sooner, rather than later.  The Postcrosser said she enjoyed quotes/sayings from the senders’ countries, so I shared with her one of my favorite quotations:

“Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.”   — Groucho Marx

One final delight is the profile of the Postcrosser from Zhukovskiy, Russia I was assigned.  She should get a prize: in nearly 20 lines of profile, she doesn’t say one single word about postcards!  The profile is all profile: she likes kayaking, traveling, Japanese literature…  Now, she’s been on the site less than 2 full months, so she is probably still naive like I was.   Since she is a kayaker, I sent her a card depicting some beautiful marine mammals, any of which one might see during a kayak ride off  the California coast.

 

Leave a Reply

