Dude! That’s Not Even a Postcard! Received from Czech Republic, Lithuania, & Slovenia

So, when an envelope from Lithuania appeared in the mail, I assumed it was via Postcrossing, from a sender who (sigh) thinks postcards should be mailed in envelopes.  I was only half right.

postcard497

The envelope is from Šiauliai, Lithuania, and it contains no postcard at all, but rather a handwritten letter (I approve) and the gift tag you see at the bottom of the image I posted.  Inside the little card was written, “Best wishes from LITHUANIA to United States of America!”  Now, the letter was from a 16-year-old, and he has been Postcrossing for less than a month, so perhaps he will soon pick up on the “postcard” part of Postcrossing.  It’s funny to me that at the end of his letter, he wrote, “P.S. Postcard ID: LT-49….” As for the content of the friendly letter, it’s very apparent he would like to study–and stay–here in the U.S., and wants some tips.  Unfortunately, I really don’t have any, but advised a cross between asking his college counselors & doing copious internet research.  He’s also interested in pen pals, even giving his email as well as physical address.  Sometimes I wonder how safe these sites are for young people, you know?  I limited my communication to answering some of his questions within the Postcrossing thank-you message field.

Going back up to the top of my image, that puppet card is from Kladno, Czech Republic, from where the sender tells me that these are “puppet characters Grandma and very famous Hurvinek.”  I looked up Hurvi, and see he hails back to 1926, making him older than Mickey Mouse!

The card with the crocs comes from Bovec, Slovenia, and is from a real postal carrier!  He says:

“I have such a great job.  🙂  Happy mail (except bills) bring smiles on peoples’ faces.  Wish you a lot of interesting mail and enjoy what you like to do.”

Stamps, stickers, postmarks, & stuff:

postcard498b

Even at magnified size, I have no idea what that sticker above the priority label is supposed to be.  Can you help?

4 thoughts on “Dude! That’s Not Even a Postcard! Received from Czech Republic, Lithuania, & Slovenia

  1. That puppet card is creepy… sorry ^^” I still haven’t forwarded mail I received, but I have re-used Christmas cards as mail art. I love Christmas mail, but when I get a card with just the standard “merry Christmas” printed in it and a name written below, I can’t justify to myself to keep it.
    I do make my own envelopes sometimes, I have a wooden template for it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve participated in swap-bot trades in which we were to slap a new back on a previously-received postcard. I cut out a hole for the stamp, so that the new recipient can appreciate it, too. I’ve employed the same technique in the past when sending a card on to a friend who would like it, but the puppet card had those images on the back, too–and there was nothing personal in the message (more like a chatty Wikipedia entry), so I just tucked it into my hand-made envelope.

      So cool you have a template! Must be neater than my method!

      Like

Leave a Reply

