A Great Day for Postcards! Received from Canada, China, & Japan

So much joy in my mailbox, all at once!  Look at all of this:

2016-05-05 01.27.45

The raccoon card came to me via Postcrossing, from a class of 2nd graders in Ontario, Canada.  The child who wrote it tells me:

“Hi!  Our favorite holiday is Mother’s Day.  This is how we celebrate our moms.  Our favorite sports are singing, dancing and soccer.  Canada is a free country.  We get to choose what we get to be.  Take care!!”

I told them that my favorite holiday is Spring Forward, and I was not making that up.

The other two cards are via Postcrossing Forum trades.  The Studio Ghibli card–Howl’s Moving Castle, to be precise–came from Hokkaido, Japan, and the sender writes:

“What is your most favorite Ghibli’s anime?  I like Princess Mononoke most.  🙂  I have some DVDs of Ghibli anime.  And I sometimes watch them.”

“I have some DVDs…and I sometimes watch them.”  I love that; it describes perfectly how I utilize my own home video collection.  A lot of stuff gathering dust.  As for her question, I answered it by saying I veer toward the “cuter” stuff: Ponyo, Borrowers Arrietty, and the amazing Spirited Away.  Do you have a favorite Miyazaki / Studio Ghibli film?

Finally, from Guangzhou, China, there’s that fun Nian Gao pounding postcard.  The sender tells me:

“I want to show you something typical of China.  Chinese New Year is very critical for us, and we will have a union dinner on Eve.  As you see, the people in the picture are making rice cake.”

Stamps & postmarks down below–lots of nice stamps this time, and I am especially loving the jovial monkey!

postcard547

Leave a Reply

