Oh! Pickled herring! Received from Canada, Germany, Latvia, Netherlands, & Poland

GIVEAWAY UPDATE: 
You hate it, you really hate it!  Still no takers for my offer of thoroughly-recyclable/compostable postcards!  If no one drops me a line soon asking for dibs on this mess, I’m shipping it off to a friend as a gag gift.

 

postcard589a

So many cards, I’m going to sort of race my way through them.

The Keep Calm and…Raise Hell card is from a Postcrosser in Rybnik, Poland.

The flowery painting card came from someplace in Germany, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum “last movie you saw” tag trade.  The sender tells me she saw Deadpool:

“Although I’m not a fan of Ryan Reynolds, I liked his performance a lot!  He was not only ‘cute.’ And the movie was funny too!  I like the Marvel films so much!  So I look forward to the next Deadpool.  And there will be one!”

The last movie I saw, by the way, was Sarbjit.

Next card is that bready one.  It’s another Postcrossing Forum card, this one for a “food package postcard” tag, and it was sent to me from the Netherlands.  The handwriting in the message was extremely hard to read, but I managed to make out that this is a popular bread at Christmastime, and the sender has made it in the past, but sometimes there just isn’t time–and so she bought the stuff in this box.

And then there’s the thing next to the pickles.  Oh!  Pickled herring!  And yes, we are still in the Netherlands with this one.  The sender tells me it’s:

“…Dutch food, though not everybody likes it because of its taste.  But I like it.  I live in a small fishing village called Ueh.  It used to be an island, but was connected to the mainland in 1939 by dykes.  We have a beach, but no tides 😦 because it is a lake.”

Why Latvia?  Because there are beaches!  So proclaims this Postcrossing card from Latvia, and the sender writes:

“Now you will have card from Latvia!”

Uh, thanks.

The last card is that one at bottom right, and it is quite a bit darker in real life, so I’m happy for my scan, which allows me to just barely make out a bit of this scene from Big Hero 6.  The card came to me from somewhere in Canada, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum “request a Disney card” tag.  I had provided a long list of Disney cards I’d like, but had to keep adding, due to my obscure desires.  I would be thrilled to receive a postcard bearing an image of Super Goof.

Stampy McStamperson: The Poland-registered Postcrossing card also bears Russian stamps–the only ones on that particular card that were cancelled.  Hmm!  My favorite stamp this time is the bird from Latvia.

postcard589b

Leave a Reply

