Cats & Peanuts: In & Out of Oklahoma

I love Kliban Cats.

It all started with my grandma.  She was a Cat Lady, and she introduced me to B. Kliban’s tabbies, and that’s about all it took.  And so, when I saw evidence of Kliban Cat postcards on the Life Flails blog, yes, I suppose I did enthuse to the point of downright silliness.  “Awesome, on top of awesome, times awesome,” is how it came out, in fact.  Am I blushing?

Well, the proprietress must have taken pity upon me, because she offered to send me a card.  And I offered her a card in return, and this is how it all came out in the wash:

POSTCARD625ab

I don’t remember encountering this Kliban image before!

On the card I sent, I wrote some of my long-suppressed Kliban memories.  At some point, I remembered that his Cat book had a drawing lesson, which informed how I drew cats when I was young.   I made an attempt at recreating that…

POSTCARD614a

Oh, yes: Kliban’s lesson did include whiskers, and the “dots” at their bases.  I abandoned those at some point in the evolution of my own cat drawing.  I attempted to draw the way he demonstrated, but–yeah, I forgot the whiskers.

5 thoughts on “Cats & Peanuts: In & Out of Oklahoma

    1. Hey, did you know that when someone clicks on your user name, the result is “thebookcatterly.wordpress.com doesn’t exist?” Now at least I know I can find your stuff by clicking on the link in this post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

