A Criminal with an Empty Space: Received from Germany, Japan, Netherlands, & Singapore

It’s been a good couple of days for postcards!

POSTCARD632a

Pingu & friends as the upper left came to me from Tokyo, Japan, as part of a Postcrossing Forum “what did you do today?” tag trade.  This trader went to some toy stores, shopping for her nephew’s 3rd birthday.  He wanted a red light saber, and she is quite worried he may fall into the dark side.  Scroll down, and you will see part of the back of the card.  I really like the happy little red mountain, with the bright sun & swirling sea.  Also, there’s the lady on the stamp, who reminds me of the super-old U.S. comics character, Emmy Lou.

What a cool beer ad!  That is from a regular Postcrossing draw, and it came to me from Mosbach, Germany (9 days; 5,732 miles).  The sender tells me hers is a hilly, rural area near Heidelberg, “a world-known city for tourists and students.  You can meet there a lot of American and Japanese people.”

Those weird creatures Fred & Ed are rescued from what seems to be some sort of candy package, and they were created by a swap-bot memeber in Lelystad, Netherlands, for an “upcycled cardboard” trade. This is one special card.  Scroll down to the card right below my writing, and you will see what I mean: absolutely covered with text, and drawings, and very unusual stamps.  The two stamps on the right are a hard plastic material, with the right-most one having a black-and-white image of a building, overlaid with a golden facade.  The stamp right next to that depicts and ice skater–and when I tilt the postcard to & fro, I can watch the skater skate!  WHOA!  Now, I am fond of my country’s Charlie Brown Christmas stamps–but they don’t move!  You’ll see the sender has drawn a “criminal with an empty space,” a reference to my swap-bot profile, which notes my view that empty space on the back of a postcard seems criminal.

Another Postcrossing card at bottom left, the Gardens by the Bay in Singapore.  It took 10 days to travel the 8,469 miles to get to me, and the sender asks if I’ve visited the just-about-to-close UnderWater World (about to shutter due to competition from a newer, bigger aquarium attraction).  I have, indeed.  There were parts I loved, and one thing that disturbed me: performing dolphins. These gorgeous Indo-Pacific humpbacked dolphins, like much of UnderWater World’s stock, are being sent on to an attraction in China. By the way, if you love dolphins, killer whales, and other cute cetaceans, as I do, I highly recommend the films The Cove and Blackfish.

On a more pleasant note: Spirited Away!  It’s from a Postcrosser in Kitami, Hokkaido, Japan, part of a Studio Ghibli-related tag trade.  Beautiful stamps on the back, check out the last attached image.

POSTCARD635ab

dfdf

POSTCARD634

Leave a Reply

