Scooting Up the Beach, Away from the Jerks: Sent to Canada, Finland, Germany, & Russia

Four more Postcrossing draws this time.  It’s a good time to mention that, hey, I bought some unique new postcards for my stash!  I stopped in on the elephant seals at Piedras Blancas last week during a quick work-related day trip to northern San Luis Obispo county, California. I popped into a restaurant for a bite, and found that the place sold postcards with photos taken by the establishment’s proprietor!  Two of them–the ones emblazoned “San Simeon, California”–are here.

POSTCARD639a

It’s an awesome thing to be traveling along the Pacific Coast Highway, near Hearst Castle, and then happening to spot a herd of zebras grazing on the east side of the road.  They are vestiges of William Randolph Hearst’s private zoo, and their presence within view of Highway One always gets drivers pulling over & leaning over a barbed-wire fence to take snapshots.

The zebra card is on its way to Turku, Finland, to a Postcrosser who says her favorite postcards “are landscapes or photos of your city.”  This area is not my city, but I do find myself there an awful lot.

The Postcrosser I drew in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada, actually wants postcards to be written to her grandmother, who was recently widowed.  Grandma apparently likes stamps, so I sent one of my ugly postcards resurfaced with a layer of stamps.

Matisse’s Harmony in Red goes to a Postcrosser in Rostov-on-Don, Russia, who stated she would like postcards printed with “reproductions of paintings by famous and not.”  Since ALL she wrote in her “profile” was a list of postcards she’d like to receive (and some she’d not), I was sort of at a loss of what to write.  It was horribly hot yesterday, and will likely be again today, but I don’t want to be that kind of bore, so I wrote:

“…Want to see something cool?  Check out the elephant seal cam at http://www.elephantseal.org/view.htm.  They are 3 hours south of me, at Piedras Blancas near San Simeon.  I went to see them in person 5 days ago!”

And there’s an elephant seal now, on the front of a postcard working its way toward Lörrach, Germany.  The recipient says she works in a cinema, because she loves movies.  She also made a mention of the type of postcards she might like to receive:

“My favorite kind of cards are ones of a sunset over the city, landscapes or famous sights. But I´m more than happy about any postcard I receive.”

Well, I assume the shot on the card I sent her was at sunset–why else would it be so dark?  And it’s kinda landscape-y, and a pretty famous sight–I mean, the parking lot was madness when I was there last week!  Okay, these new cards are burning a hole in my postcards stash, so eager am I to unleash them on the world!  I told her about the cam, too.  I was watching the cam as I wrote the card, and I happened to see a couple of male elephant seals fighting, as a female scooted up the beach and away from the jerks.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Scooting Up the Beach, Away from the Jerks: Sent to Canada, Finland, Germany, & Russia

  1. I always get excited to see if you posted a new entry for the day 🙂

    I am never disappointed with your posts. I really enjoy reading about the postcards you send/receive.

    P.S. The little blurb about the elephant seals made me chuckle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoy this! I like the process. I’m saving–virtually–my postcarding activities, but in the process, all kinds of other little things go down, & it’s kind of fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

