The Jerk Who Ruined Postcrossing: Sent to China, Germany, India, & Taiwan

A Postcrossing batch, with some drama.

POSTCARD651a

The tiger is going to a tiger lover in Taipei, Taiwan.  She loves to travel (hey, me, too!), and says she has been to 28 countries so far (whoa!  I seem to have some catching up to do!).

Speaking of travel, the next card depicts the Hapuna Beach Prince, a resort on the Big Island of Hawaii’s Kohala coast.  I’ve not stayed here, though I have stayed at its older sister nearby.  This one is headed for Kunshan, Jiangsu  China, in a Postcrossing Forum tag trade, to a recipient who expressed an interest in receiving hotel postcards.

The California state map (uh, not to scale) is also going off to to China in a Postcrossing Forum trade: it goes to someone in Harbin, Heilongjiang, China who expressed an interest in map cards.  I notice I have several different California map cards, some more fun, others more informational.

Next comes one of California’s more beautiful sights, the Big Sur coastline.  That’s a regular Postcrossing draw, and it’s off to someone in Aachen, Germany who says he likes beautiful landscapes, including coasts.

Finally comes the black & white card at bottom, which went to Margao, Goa, India.  And herein lays a tale.  A dark moment in Postcrossing, one might say.

“Hi!  I love getting postcards as the whole world steps in my postbox! It’s such a beautiful experience. 🙂 “

Oh, what a nice start!  I agree with the sentiment.

Unfortunately, he keeps talking.

“On the card, write the name of your city and date of posting please. Also write about the card, as in what it depicts. I prefer information about the card, rather than your personal details.  To be frank, I don’t like the sender’s personal details on the card. Please do write the date and name of city/ town where posted.”

Okay, buddy, thank you for taking every bit of joy out of this Postcrossing experience.  Thank you for taking the personal connection out of the equation.  Thank you for transforming this from a fun pastime into a grim assignment.

I should have just picked whatever card I liked, and written a chatty little missive about myself, but I picked this black & white New York Stock Exchange photo, based on Jerky’s stated preferences of cards depicting “anything related to history, law or politics,” and then I looked up sources of information on the architect, George B. Price, and I shared that, with no frivolity such as a salutation or a signature.

If every Postcrosser were like this fella, I’d quit.

3 thoughts on “The Jerk Who Ruined Postcrossing: Sent to China, Germany, India, & Taiwan

  1. So many happy childhood days spent at that very beach (and the one at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, too!)–though we rarely stayed at the hotels! Sounds like Sir Jerk was, if anyone, deserving of one of those weird typographical-grocery-list cards you were trying to get rid of a while back ;D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d have been very tempted to write about myself on Jerky’s postcard! Good for you for taking the high road!!!

    I think part of the experience of postcrossing is not only learning about other parts of the world, but learning about those who you receive postcards from!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

