My Hobby is Running in the Street: Received from Brazil, Japan, Malaysia, Russia, and the United States

Here’s a batch I’ve been neglecting to log–mostly regular Postcrossing arrivals.

2016-08-08 07.21.23

DONALD DUCK!  Shiny!  The card comes to me thanks to the Postcrossing Forum “Far East to America” tag, and is from a nice sender with whom I’ve exchanged cards before.  She’s in Hamamatsu, Japan.  She writes:

“I work as a cooking teacher.  I selected this card for you, because I could find the many Donald Duck cards in your favorite!  We have the rainy season in June and July.  I sometime feel uncomfortable with high humidity.”

I love that “Hawaiian Rain Forest” postcard–heck, I remember those U.S. stamps!  Now, it was sent to me in a swap-bot “I HATE This Postcard” trade, but the sender (in Hamden, Connecticut) writes:

“I don’t really hate this PC!  I love mail in general, but this card–is in the way it doesn’t fit like the rest!  And you like Hawaii, so here you go another sign that you must get there one day.  P.S. All mail needs a P.S. too right?”

Okay, I don’t understand what she is writing, but I do like the card.  And two of the three stamps. I do HATE the third stamp, though!  You can check out the stamp photo below & decide for yourself which of the three stamps is the hated third.

We have a double serving of chocolate this time around. The fancy ones with the cinnamon sticks & coffee beans come from a Postcrosser near Nizhny, Russia, and the card’s back bears a stamp collection–5 great-big ones!  I love the mammal, which turns out to be a wolverine!

The other choco serving is a food package postcard (thanks to Postcrossing Forum) from a sender in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, who writes:

“Let me share a ‘phrase’ with you: ‘busy is a choice, stress is a choice, joy is a choice.’ choose well.”

 

The photo postcard of the trees is from a 15-year-old Postcrosser in Farroupilha, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, who writes in his profile that his hobbies are “jiu jitsu and run in the street.”  He writes:

“This postcard is about an important place in my city there you can run and relax with your family!  Bye!”

Finally, the illustrated food card–“from RUSSIA with love”–is from a Postcrosser in Ekaterinburg, Russia, and she writes:

“I live in this big city and work as a doctor.  I like travelling very much and making photos.  My husband calls himself a gastronomic tourist, we love going to restaurants in different countries and try local food.  I’ve never been to USA, but my husband was in California.”

Stamps–lots of them!

2016-08-08 07.18.58

 

Leave a Reply

