People on the Go Don’t Freeze Well: Received from China, Germany, & the U.S.

The mail carrier handed me all five of these cards at once yesterday–and look at these awesome top two!

2016-08-08 19.30.36

The bao come from Shanghai, China, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum trade.  The sender writes:

“Greetings from China.  This card shows char siu buns (dumpling with marinated pork).  It is also Cantonese cuisine.”

Love me some Cantonese cuisine!  I have made bao several times.  Hint for people on the go: they freeze well (bao, not people on the go).

I’ve had a lifelong love of the Kliban Cats, and in swoops Avery in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to enable me a little more!  Hey is that a juice box? Oooh, pineapple juice…

I also like all those little figures on the “impressure BEIJIN” card.  Another Postcrossing Forum trade, it was sent to me from someone in Harbin, China, who tells me:

“Our city is famous for ice and snow.  The winter here is beautiful.”

Nope.

Then comes a bit of recycling from Kiel, Germany, another result of a swap-bot Upcycled Cardboard trade.  Those truffles sure look good.  The sender writes that he works as a teacher, and that he’s on summer break.  Do you know some schools here in the U.S., right now in August’s infancy, have already started back up?  Saddest thing ever.

Finally, another swap-bot trade, this time the “I HATE this postcard,” comes to me from Austin, Texas.  The sender writes:

“This is one of those cards I’ve had for years and can’t seem to get rid of.  It’s almost vintage!  Hope it brings you some joy.  🙂 “

I don’t mind the postcard, but I had to admit to the sender that I DO HATE the stamp:

2016-08-08 19.31.40

What a horrible life for a beast. 

The rest of the stamps (some wonderful ones here, I love the hurdling ram from China), plus postmarks, stickers, & washi tape…

2016-08-08 19.31.40 a

One thought on “People on the Go Don’t Freeze Well: Received from China, Germany, & the U.S.

Leave a Reply

