I Want to Live in a Water Home! Received from Czech Republic, Germany, Taiwan, Ukraine, & the U.S.

Time to post a few more of my incomings, before I get snowed under!  May be too late…

Snoopy-Dog-Dog!  It’s another fun bootleg Peanuts card from Pingtung, Taiwan, thanks to the Postcrossing Forum Snoopy/Peanuts tag!

postcard683a

This sender apparently has a problem with stamp adhesion; we’re doing a little better this time, as one of the two stamps she affixed did make it all the way into my mailbox.  I knew one was missing, because in her message, she wrote about the stamps:

“The right side stamp is Taiwan fruit Shakya.  The left side stamp is a scene in the novel which is called ‘The Story of the Stone,’ also called ‘Dream of the Red Chamber.’  It is one of China’s Four Great Classical Novels.”

If you look at the stamp image below, you’ll be able to see that second stamp.  It’s at the very bottom, within the sticker Snoopy’s line of vision.  I looked up that book; at least in the English translation, it encompasses 5 volumes!  Whoa!

As for the fruit–shakya–I looked it up, too.  Also known as custard apple!

Cool ostrich shot!  That’s from a Postcrosser near Sonsbeck, Germany.  She’s 14, she says she’s glad she can write to the U.S.A., and she wishes me a happy birthday.

Cindi went to Maui, and sent me this Pa’iloa Bay card!  I do love a coastal scene with no people in evidence–that’s what I cross my fingers for when I look for a beach to walk in my general region.  A couple of weeks back, when I was in Central California, I ended up in a couple of touristy areas where there was not even any room in the parking lots next to the beaches, so I just kept on going.  No peace to be found there.

Then there is that very cheesy card.  It came to me from Dallas, Texas, thanks to a swap-bot food postcard trade, and the sender writes:

“I spent this morning canning Bread & Butter pickles.  It’s the first time I have used a recipe with Splenda so I’m wondering how/if they will turn out.  Two days ago I canned Kosher Dill Pickles and I have plans for Pickled Squash.  I love food and I enjoy eating cheese.  The different flavors and textures are amazing.”

Okay, now we have the girl walking some paper boats.  It’s from Odessa, Ukraine, and it’s my 300th Postcrossing Card Received!  Also, a few days ago, Postcrossing emailed me to congratulate me on 2 Years with the Site.  I haven’t seen a card in the mail from them, yet.

The insects come from a Postcrosser in  Blatná, Czech Republic. She tells me,

“We have got amazing water castle.  Around this castle is big park with fallow deer.”

I looked up “water castle.”  That means, basically, it has a moat.  I want to have a water home!

Stamps, postmarks, stickers, & washi tape– my favorite stamp this time would have to be that beautiful fish!

postcard683

Leave a Reply

