I Don’t Think That Flamingo is Chinese: Received from China, Czech Republic, Finland, Japan, & Malaysia

Some really cool cards this time around!

postcard690a

Snoopy!  It’s birthday greetings from a postcard pal in Tokyo, Japan, and she says the card also represents Snoopy’s birthday on August 10:

“The day is famous for Snoopy’s Birthday in Japan.  A lot of goodies released on the day.”

I always wonder why Snoopy & Peanuts seem more treasured in Japan than here in their birthplace.  Be sure to check out the back of the postcard below–there’s also a Doraemon stamp!  Oh, speaking of that, a couple of days later, I got a birthday parcel from my friend, and it had a ton of Doraemon stamps on it.  Here they are:

postcard691b

I love Doraemon.  I might have actually enjoyed these stamps more than anything inside the package!

Next up, from a Postcrosser in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, come those tasty traditional kue (AKA kuih).  I’ve received this same card in the past, but it is no less tasty this time around!  The sender tells me, “I have 7 cats and love them so much!”  Whoa!

I’m loving that flamingo on the beach.  It’s from Tianjin, China, thanks to Postcrossing Forum’s “China Meets the World” tag.  I don’t think this scene takes place in China.  The sender tells me, “…I am a cabin crew working for Air China.  I love postcards and stamps from all over the world.”  I love the sturgeon stamp on his card (check it out below).

The emo-looking movie poster card comes from Finland.  It’s part of a swap-bot free postcard trade, and the sender writes, “this card advertised a new Finnish movie which tells a story of one of our famous band.”

Last up is another Postcrossing card, this one from Kuřim, Czech Republic.  The card depicts Podyjí National Park, and here is what Wikipedia told me about that park:

Podyjí National Park is a national park in the South Moravian Region of the Czech Republic. Adjacent to Austria’s Thayatal National Park on the border, together they are referred to as the Inter-National park.

Stamps, postmarks, stickers & stuff:

postcard691a

postcard691

Leave a Reply

