The Stamp I Very Nearly Tried to Eat: Received from China, Germany, Hong Kong, Singapore, & the U.S.

 

POSTCARD701b

Time again to let you poke through my mail a little bit!  We start with some delicious food.

That large serving of siu mai (or a serving of large siu mai?) is from Shanghai, China, via Postcrossing Forum.  This is the same Postcrosser who recently sent me char siu bao, and this time he writes:

“This card shows Shumai also Romanized as siu mai or shaomai. Is a type of traditional Chinese dumpling served as dimsum.  I like to eat.”

Yes, siu mai & I are old friends!

More tasty food: that illustrated sorta-how-to on spring rolls.  Another Postcrossing Forum incoming, this one from Hong Kong, and the sender writes:

“This is Asia cuisine–spring rolls! Very delicious.  I love them.  🙂 Hope you enjoy this card.”

Oh, yes.  AND THE STAMPS!  Look down below & see the four great stamps from this card: 3 birds & a meal.  I especially love the two to the right: the sea eagle & the delicious nasi lemak.  That is a Malaysian dish, but as is printed on the bottom of the stamp, it is a China-Malaysia joint issue.  Very interesting!  I looked it up, and learned this:

As the Chinese saying goes, food is of paramount importance to all of us. By learning more about the food culture of a country, we can gain an appreciation of the customs and traditions of the local people. For Hong Kong’s 13th joint issue with other postal administrations, Hongkong Post and Pos Malaysia are jointly issuing a set of four stamps on local food that can be found in the two places.

These stamps showcase the unique local culinary delights that reflect the distinctive cuisines and food tastes of these two Asian neighbors, including the egg waffle and Poon Choi in Hong Kong and Nasi Lemak and satay in Malaysia. 

I’m so excited about these stamps, I might as well show them right now, so we can get on with the rest of the postcards.

postcard700

Next up is the shark-surrounded kayaker, which came to me from Germany thanks to a swap-bot “ad/free card” trade.  The sender tells me,

“I found this ad postcard at our local cinema.  It says: ‘no bad surprises.’ Hope you like it!”

A different swap-bot free postcard trade brought me the suitcase, in from Chevy Chase, Maryland. This sender is better at filling out the back of the postcard than most swap-botters I encounter: she actually has a lot to say!

“I’m so glad that summer classes end just last Thursday (man, were those classes hard)!  Fitting with one of the main themes of this card, my family and I will get to travel for the part of next month to many places in eastern Canada for various reasons from reuniting with old friends, seeing the place to taking maple syrup extraction classes!”

Disney/Pixar fact about me: I loathe their movie “Cars,” but really enjoy the Disney California Adventure area Cars Land/Radiator Springs!  The movie is the point where I semi-retired from Pixar. So much more creativity went into the attraction than the movie franchise.  My enjoyment of the California Adventure land caused me to welcome this postcard from Lake Elsinore, California, sent to me in a swap-bot Disney postcard swap.  The sender writes:

“We have Disneyland passes and we really enjoy strolling through Cars Land, especially when they turn on all the neon lights in the evening.”

Finally, and still on the topic of vehicles, we have that dolly behind the wheel, sent to me from a friend in Singapore.  My friend is a real toy nut, and like me, she photographs her toys in fun situations–and sometimes even makes postcards out of those shots!

Leave a Reply

