A 227-Day Borscht! Received from China, France, Russia, Sweden, & Taiwan

I’ve received my first Postcrossing card from Sweden–and it’s meerkats!  I love those li’l guys.  The card’s sender lives in Stocka, Sweden, and she writes:

“One of your favorite cards had a suricate, so I hope you like this card too! 🙂  I’m 66, retired, and living with my husband at the Swedish eastcoast (+-300 km N of Stockholm).  We live in a small village at the seaside and enjoy very much the beautiful nature and the quietness.  🙂 “

postcard736a

The mountainous scene is from Yangzhou, China, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum trade. The sender tells me about the art:

“This series of postcard is about Chinese ancient poems and paintings.  And this one mostly expresses flash of time, and homesickness.”

Next comes another Postcrossing Forum card from the same country: the map watercolor came from a sender in Fuzhou, China, who told me a bit about herself:

“I like to read too.  I like detective novels and of course, manga.  😄  I enjoy my summer holidays now.”

Aren’t those basset hounds great?  It’s a regular Postcrossing receipt from an elementary school science teacher in Taichung, Taiwan, who writes about the food stamps you’ll see below:

“The stamps show the delicious Taiwanese street food: Ba-wan, stinky tofu, and sugar apple.”

The aubergine borshch is another Postcrossing card, and it came to me from Kazan, Russia, and, WHOA!  IT TOOK 227 DAYS TO GET TO ME!  Postcrossing card assignments expire after 60 days, clearing the slot so the sender can mail off another card.  If another, uh, 138 days had passed, I wouldn’t have been able to register it!  Where do you suppose the card was, that whole time?  Nothing revolutionary in the message, just a 16-year-old writing that she hopes I will like her traditional cuisine.  I don’t know if I’ve had this exact soup, but there is a restaurant near me that serves a tasty Hong Kong-style borscht!

Finally, the toon card, another regular Postcrossing incoming, is from Paris, France (well, in her profile, the sender says, “I live in Paris, but not in Paris”).  The sender tells me she purchased the card “when I was in the UK at the beach.”

Stamps, postmarks, & stuff: I love the delicious top line of stamps here:postcard737

postcard738

Leave a Reply

