There’s a Lot to Unpack Here! Outgoings, Incomings, Updates, & Some Sweet Relief

Yes, for someone who is nervous about participating in swap-bot, I am participating in the site way too much!  This time, it’s a little trade of Disney items.  What I didn’t notice until right now is that the person I was assigned is the swap creator!  Now I am more knotted up than ever.  Let’s look at the swap, though.  This went off to a swapper in Zella-Mehlis, Germany.  It’s to have been a “little Disney swap,” and we were to send 4 items.  I sent 6 (officially 5, because if you send 2 of something, it counts as just one).  We’ve got goods from 3 different stores here (oh, these special swap-bot shopping trips!), plus a prior online purchase.

2016-09-20-17-54-32

So how did I choose the specific items in the photo?  My partner did share some Disney info on herself:

“Right now I am collecting different Disney things: postcards, stickers, and letter sheets/note books…My favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast, I also really like… The Lion King…”

After that, it just comes down to what is available where I shopped.  Let’s look at the pic again, evaluating it as if I were the recipient:

* Postcards: I like these postcards very much; they’re my favorite thing, I think, in the package;

* Princess stickers & notes: not for me, but would make for some lovely regifting;

* Laundry bag: I think this is a very cool find–but I’d probably use it as a gift wrap for someone, and be very excited about doing so;

* Minnie jelly beans: Disney candy packaging is awesome!  And also I hate jelly beans.  I would regift them.

But that’s just me.

I wrote my partner a note, and packed it all up:

2016-09-20-18-04-57a

So we’ll find out how that goes over.

UPDATE: The results are in, and I got my high score: 5-and-a-heart!  The recipient wrote:

Comment: Thank you so much for all the nice things! Yes I have indeed seen The Lion King and Beauty and the Beast on stage. There will be a new production of the Hunchback of Notre Dame next year after almost 20 years an I really want to see it!

Also, I’ve received MY small Disney surprises, and they came from a swapper in La Teste-de-Buch, France. AND, as so often happens with soft mailers, the first thing I did was to destroy part of the contents when I opened the envelope.

2016-09-28-16-36-45

Look at the lower left corner area.  Snipped off.

Only regiftable as a part of a gag gift.  😡 There must be a better way.  If you have some opening-soft-packages advice, I’d like you to share it with me, please!

2016-09-28-16-37-39

Olaf’s a nice, funny guy, but I can’t recommend these cookies of his.  And his movie makes me itch.

Is there anything here I would have bought for myself?  Nope.  I think my benefactor had about as hard a time shopping as I did.  Also, I think that if I am going to participate in swaps beyond just postcards, I should refine my profile again to offer some helpful suggestions.  Now, the stationary stuff here is very nice–for someone who wants it–and it’ll move right along to someone who I think might like it.  Or at least enjoy regifting it.

And now, this:

2016-10-09-07-32-04

W h o a !

Whoa!  From Canada comes this day-making “small package swap.” Not so small, at all, and the sender REALLY went to a lot of trouble.  Those blue things on top of the book are custom-made return address labels, in some of my favorite cartoon characters–and you see she also made matching ornaments!  Dark chocolate (and in Aero, which I love for its texture), a book (because I like to read), and 15–15!!!–Kinder egg capsules!  For some reason, this woman enjoys Kinder-brand chocolate (I love the eggs, but what they call chocolate I sweep up into the trash).  This package induced gasp-after-gasp as I delightedly opened each of the little parcels within the padded envelope.  This shows me that despite the fact I resist making my swap-bot profile a demand list, there’s enough in there for people to deduce exactly what I might love to receive.  This trader is beyond perceptive–and generous.  I’ve already used a couple of my new return-address labels.

So, going along with that swap, I HAVE ANOTHER UPDATE!

The package I sent out (look for the photo with the bookmark & cookie cutters) to the U.K. for this trade has landed!  And I did get my 5-and-a-heart.  Here’s what the recipient had to say:

Comment: Thanks for the great package 🙂 I adore the spotty packaging tape and pink bunny cookie cutter, but everything is lovely thanks ❤ It arrives here as Autumn is starting to set in and the heating in my house has finally gone back on!!

Whew!  Whooooooooo!  I don’t even know if my heart can handle more swap-bot package swaps, but when you receive a package like that last one… the addiction can be real.  But maybe not as real as the nerves.

5 thoughts on “There’s a Lot to Unpack Here! Outgoings, Incomings, Updates, & Some Sweet Relief

  1. Agh I have SO done that with soft mailers before. The bane of my existence. So many beautiful postcards have lost their lives as I attempt to open those packages with scissors. I’ve never seen so many “freed” Kinder Egg capsules in one place before!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually try to open up a corner from the envelope when I am not sure where the content is. Once I spotted the stuff, I use my crafting knife, blade upwards, I poke it in the little open corner and cut open the envelope from the “inside”. I guess any (snap-off) utility knife works in this case.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so happy for you that you ended up receiving a 5 & a heart for both swaps. I had a feeling you would, since you took the time to put together a nice envelope/package for your partner! Just from the photos, I could tell you put a lot of thought into what you sent 🙂

    I love the idea of Disney themed mail. Maybe I’ll have to keep that in mind for the next time I’m in the mood for putting together some themed mail!

    Last but definitely not least, thank you for the wonderful envelope full of goodies that you sent me! I love everything very much! The Snoopy and Woodstock postcard is absolutely adorable. I love the bookmarks very much! I’m a huge bookworm, so those will be put to good use. I’m so sad that my public library doesn’t offer free bookmarks! The scratch-n-sniff strawberry bookmark is very nostalgic to me. When I was younger, I think in kindergarten, I had a scented strawberry sticker on my pencil case. So every time I smell a strawberry scented sticker, it reminds me of my childhood! I haven’t watched Roger Rabbit in a long time, I’ll have to watch it next time I have some free time 🙂 Again, thank you for the goodies.. I will work on some outgoing mail for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

