PU-3: The Last of My 1st Batch in w/Postcard United, & then…

Yeah, yeah, I dove into Postcard United a couple of months back, and once my cards landed, I eventually started receiving cards from around the world–and my own country.  I waited until they all seemed to be in, then shared them here, and here…and now, finally, right here.

postcard777a

Isn’t that pizza card sent to me from Beijing, China interesting?  It seems to me that the smaller image, separated from the larger one by a line of perforation, is meant to be saved by the sender– but of course, if you really like the pic, why not save the BIG one?  I got both, with the note:

“Hello!  Nice to meet you!  I’m from Beijing, China. This is a card of pizza.  Hope you like it.

I really like that toucan photo, which was sent to me from Novosibirskya, Russia:

“I bought this postcard in the Novosibirsk Zoo.  This toucan lives in it and sends you greetings.  Toucans easily tamed, because they are trusting and teachable.  Maybe I should make toucan as a pet? 🙂  Although two large snails live in my house.  Do you have any pets?  Good luck!  Happy postcrossing!”

Yes, she did say postcrossing, although we’re using the, uh, other service.  And a big NO on the toucan stuff.  Screw that noise–I hate to see big birds in small cages.

One final card to share in this inaugural lot of received cards, and it’s the kitten apparently allowing a puppy to swallow it whole.  It’s from Norway, and the sender tells me:

“I live in the south-east of Norway.  I have 2 kids, boy (21) and girl (16), cats and a boyfriend.  My job is to take care of kids and adults with special needs.  All the best!”

Stamps–the one from China is my favorite…

postcard775

By the way, I neglected to share more than one of my “Great News!!!” messages (the Postcard United version of Postcrossing’s “Hurray!” message), but this one from a ‘Uniter I was assigned in the U.S. is worth reading:

Hello from Massachusetts! I want to thank you for the groovy vintage card! Totally love it! Postcardunited is a fun site that is struggling with growing pains. Sometimes it drives me crazy…but I keep coming back because at one time, I was #1. But the current #1 (Yuk) is tough to beat! Have a great weekend!! Nathan

So now what do I do?  START SENDING OUT MORE CARDS!  Yes, I will continue Postcard Uniting.

postcard781

The donkey went off on its way to Hirtenberg, Austria, to a person who did in fact express an interest in donkey cards.  Here’s a snippet of her profile:

I live in a house with garden together with my dog-girl, she´s my sunshine, very naughty and cute!!

That pool scene went to someone in Harbin, Heilongjiang, China who expressed an interest in hotel ad cards.  This card, which I’d say is from the 1960s at the latest, is one I found in my late mother’s stationery stash, and it is from a place called the Maui Palms Hotel.  I’ve been to Hawaii plenty throughout my life, but I think this might have been from a trip my folks took before my time.

Finally, the bridge card is going to Jawa Timur, Indonesia, to someone whose entire list of cards she would like to receive was all about bridges.  I was happy to find a bridge in an old postcard book I found at a Friends of the Library book sale.

Looking forward to more Postcard Uniting, with more countries I never (or rarely) see on Postcrossing!

One thought on “PU-3: The Last of My 1st Batch in w/Postcard United, & then…

Leave a Reply

