Stupid & Cats Like High Places: Received from Japan & Taiwan

postcard785a

Astrooooo!  That beautiful Astro Boy card came to me from Saitama, Japan, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum tag trade.

The Snoopy Tokyo Station cards at top & bottom right are both from a postcard pal in Tokyo, Japan, and they act as sheet 1 & 2 of a little letter she wrote me.  She had recently visited the Tokyo Skytree, and tells me:

“I saw a crowded city from a height of 450 m.  This city has a lot of buildings & houses.  Cars are like a miniature of a car like ‘TOMICA.’ A part of the floor is made of glass.  I couldn’t stand on it, I was too scared! My mom told me I was stupid, and I had to stand on it.  Of course, she was right, but ‘stupid and cats like high places’ is a Japanese proverb.  Do you like high places?”

I was lucky enough to get TWO Kiki’s Delivery Service postcards, both I think from Studio Ghibli/wish list tag trades on Postcrossing Forum (I send to people providing their non-Ghibli wish list, since I have no Ghibli cards to send).  Both from Japan: Fukuoka and Tokyo.

One more card, one more PF tag trade: that’s the Great Pumpkin card, and it came to me from Fengyuan District, Taichung, Taiwan.

Here come the stamps, stamps, and washi tape.  I love the Doraemon stamps, and the animal stamps, and the dragonfruit, and the Kiki stamp–and that l’il mail ninja!

postcard787

postcard786

2 thoughts on “Stupid & Cats Like High Places: Received from Japan & Taiwan

  1. Now that’s what I call HAPPY MAIL! I love the cards you received- Astro Boy, Kiki’s Delivery Service & Peanuts! Such a great selection of postcards! I love the stamps and washi tape too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

