A Great Batch, with a “Bad” Ending: Received from China, Japan, Taiwan, & the U.S.

postcard805ab

Those very busy, porcelain-making pandas came to me from Harbin, China, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum tag trade.  Did you hear the news stories about the U.S.-born pandas who were sent to China, and are having a rough time with the language & food?

Cindi in Hawaii tells me Honi Kaua translates as “kiss me.” You know Hawaii is a special place when, for once, a kiss from Snoopy doesn’t leave Lucy calling out for iodine!  This very cool, very special Hawaii card is such an exclusive that I, in many trips to Hawaii throughout my life, have never seen it in any stores there.  Of course, most of the stores that draw me in happen to be ABC Stores!

The two busy Peanuts postcards in the middle are from a postcard pal in Tokyo, Japan.  Even more than the cards she sent, I love the envelope she made for them–out of an entire Snoopy-themed Mister Donut bag!

 

postcard808a

The Taiwan card is from Taiwan–Kaohsiung, Taiwan, to be exact.  The sender writes:

“I’m a college student.  I live in Kaohsiung, a south city of Taiwan.  Kaohsiung used to have an important harbour, so there were lots of old warehouses.  Now the area of these warehouses become a famous art center.”

I love the beautiful flower stamp on her envelope (scanned below), which is labeled as Calliandra emarginata, but it looks like lehua to me!

Finally, from Kansas City (and no, I don’t know which one), thanks to a swap-bot trade of movie/TV postcards, comes that “Breaking Bad” card.  The sender writes:

“Did you ever watch Breaking Bad?  If not, I highly recommend it.  It is a masterpiece.”

No, I have never watched that.  You know what show I highly recommend?  Luke Cage.

I mentioned one of the stamps before, but look below & you will see that this was a wonderful batch for stamps!  In fact, the only two I do not love are the buildings.  I’ve scanned just one of the two Snoopy-with-hibiscus stickers (each of them different) on Cindi’s card.  I’m a fool for tropical flowers.

postcard806

3 thoughts on “A Great Batch, with a “Bad” Ending: Received from China, Japan, Taiwan, & the U.S.

  1. I’m so happy that the Suntan Snoopy postcard reached you! I’m not sure when they started selling these, but I’ve only been made aware of these cute postcards a little over a year ago! Great find and I’m happy to share them wth you!

    I love the Peanuts postcards you received and the Mister Donut envelope is adorable! Very bright and cheerful!

    Luke Cage has been on my list of shows to watch for a while now. I really enjoyed Jessica Jones!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

