Jeez, Morning People Are the Worst! Sent to Germany, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Russia, & Ukraine

“I’m addicted to weird things. So, if you have some unusual cards I’d be glad to have one.”

That’s what the Postcrosser in Barnaul, Russia wrote, so she gets Retro Dining Family.

postcard813a

That card, and the one right next to it, are both from The World’s Tackiest Postcards, a book I found at a library bookstore.  The charming highway scene will go to a friend of mine in Hong Kong, and I can’t wait to see what he has to say about this little surprise in his mailbox.

As for the rest of this batch:

Worm: Chennai, India (Postcard United)–This guy, who said he’d like funny cards, has been at this hobby about a year.  He writes, “I am a graduate student in India, and in between studies, postcards give me time to relax and think about friends around the world.”

California’s Natural Wonders: Luedenscheid, Germany (Postcrossing)–This recipient likes map cards, and I am sending her my favorite of the various California map cards I’ve come across, having written about a couple of my favorite points she’ll notice in the image.

Tiger: Mariupol, Donetsk, Ukraine (Postcard United)–sad to say, but this “Uniter” said nothing about herself, just providing a “want” list instead.  Fortunately, that included nature, cute little animals, and kawaii things, so this is sure to be a hit.  The card also is good for cipher-crossers, because it has a back story I can explain in lieu of actually making a connection based on her profile.

Empire State Building: Changkat Jering, Perak, Malaysia (Postcard United)–This man, who likes b&w cards (and many others) was a big outdoorsman, until suffering a stroke, and since then he has picked up stamp collecting & postcard exchange.  He writes, “I like to have friends all around the globe even though my English is not very good but try to do better everyday.”

Take a look at some of the stamps & washi tape:

2016-11-25-10-00-29

2016-11-25-09-36-29

2016-11-23-12-14-59

2016-11-23-07-55-50

 

3 thoughts on “Jeez, Morning People Are the Worst! Sent to Germany, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Russia, & Ukraine

  1. After following your blog for a while I decided to join Postcrossing! I’ve sent out my first 5 and 2 have arrived already 🙂 I’m yet to receive any, but I’m so excited.
    I have a couple of questions:
    Do you add your ‘from’ address?
    What do you normally write about?

    I didn’t add a from address on mine and I found it was difficult to write anything interesting in such a short space. Do you have any tips?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sandeep, congratulations on joining Postcrossing!

      I sometimes add my return address. I’d say that it depends upon the recipient’s location, profile–and if I think about it. It’s happened in the past that something I’ve received from someone else made me want to mail them something in return, so I was happy they’d included their address to allow me to do so.

      About what to write: Postcrossing offers a lot of helpful suggestions in their “help” section:
      https://www.postcrossing.com/help/what-should-i-write-on-the-postcard

      Normally, I look for prompts in the recipient’s profile, such as things we both like to do. If that doesn’t work, I’ll try to relate to the postcard I’m sending. Occasionally, I end up having a hard time putting something together–but only very rarely. I tend to squeeze about 13 lines of text onto my postcards!

      Hope you find this helpful! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  2. I love the California map card, I can see why it’s your favorite! What a great find 🙂

    Also, love the Tiger postcard! I’ve always wanted to have my own postcards printed but never got around to doing so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

