The Problem with Food Tourism: Received from Poland, Taiwan, & the U.S.

Three awesome cards up top this time, starting in Hawaii with another cooool Peanuts card from the Suntan Snoopy collection!  Thanks, Cindi! And the special stamp, which you’ll see at the end of the post.

postcard817a

That beautiful image of a tea house at night is from Taipei, Taiwan, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum trade.  The sender writes:

“I really like America.  It is so beautiful!  I have there this year for work and travel in Big Sky.  I really had a good time there, hope can go again.”

And so it happened that I, the American, went online to look up “Big Sky.”  Now, I’ve been once or twice to a Big Sky Cafe in San Luis Obispo, California, but I assumed that’s not what she was talking about.  After my search, I asked her if she meant Big Sky, Montana, not far from Yellowstone National Park.  Indeed, she did:

yeah! the town in Montana 🙂
and I worked in Big Sky Resort, the largest ski resort in the United States

The wonderful–delicious–illustrated card is from a Postcrosser in Tainan, Taiwan.  He writes:

“I’m an university freshman majoring in education.  If you have a chance to travel, welcome to Taiwan.  We have a lot of special, cheap and delicious foods.  Maybe you will love it.”

Do you know what the problem with food travel is?  Not enough stomach space.  VERY frustrating.

The 3 cards at the bottom all came in an envelope from a Postcard United member in Wysokie, Poland.  Not for the first time in my very young Postcard United career, I have been assigned to a user that had previously been assigned to me.  This fella wrote on the nicest of the cards–the owl:

“I collect postcard and magnets from different countries.  Please send me a postcard from your region.”

Those other 2 cards, I suppose intended to be gifts in trade, couldn’t interest me less.  I’d feel guilty even sending them out in a Postcard United or Postcrossing assignment.  I ended up scanning them and adding them to my Photobucket of “offers” for when I enter such reverse tags in the Postcrossing Forum.  If this sender had looked at my favorited cards, maybe he would have seen something in his collection that woulda been a more motivating bribe for me, but, nah.  In truth, thanks to the way Postcard United apparently works, I have indeed ALREADY sent him a card from my region!

Nice stamps!  Check out the atemoya — AND THE DUMBO!

postcard818

One thought on “The Problem with Food Tourism: Received from Poland, Taiwan, & the U.S.

Leave a Reply

