I am Losing Track! Sent to England, Israel, Malaysia, Netherlands, Russia, & Taiwan

This is getting out of hand.

The game of snail mail is such an ephemeral thing, I thought it would be nice to use a blog to keep track of the comings & goings, to e-save the postcards I send out, and to remember the countries & people I’m hearing from.  The fact is, though, it’s a lot of detail to keep on top of.  I’m losing out on reading time!

If you, as a snail mailer & blogger, have any tips for simplification & organization, please share!  In the meantime, let’s try to catch up on some of my outgoing cards I’ve been letting slip through the cracks here on the reporting end.

postcard831

Princess Tatiana from Disney’s The Princess & the Frog went to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, for a Postcrossing Forum trade titled “what I’d really like to have is,” and I THINK the recipient asked for a Disney princess.

Eat More Hole Foods!  Just don’t buy them at Whole Foods, or they’ll cost you an arm & a leg.  The doughnut went to Suffolk, England, in another Postcrossing Forum “you choose” tag, in which the person tagging us gets their choice of a postcard from those we have posted as having available to send.  She’s since tagged me again, and has chosen a similar card from my collection–but that will have to wait for another post.

The next set of 3 are all for regular Postcrossing draws.  The corgi went to Johor, Malaysia; the bear to Saint Petersburg, Russia; and the shots of San Jose to The Hague, Netherlands. See how quickly I dispatched with all of that?  Not satisfying at all.  We are learning nothing, here.

postcard845

The Japanese Friendship Gardens in San Jose are beautiful.  There are a lot of beautiful Japanese gardens in the SF Bay Area.  My FAVORITE such garden, though, is in Hilo, Hawaii.  True story.

Okay, here we go.  This lady down here, don’t keep her waiting any longer.  I mailed her out like a month ago.

postcard811a

The lady looking at clothes went to Tel Aviv, Israel.  That’s another card from the Klutz Press World’s Tackiest postcards, and if you don’t think it’s tacky, just look at the next image down, which is the text printed on the back of the card.

postcard810a

C r i k e y .

Lovely.

It went off for a swap-bot trade of “weird/ugly postcards,” and as I wrote to my partner, “doesn’t get much weirder & uglier than this!”  You know, at some point, Klutz published a second book of these cards, but I don’t tend to see either of them around!

Finally, the sea nettles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium went to Kaohsiung City, Taiwan, in a Postcrossing Forum tag trade of marine life-related cards.  I love marine life.  I try to make an aquarium trip just about every place I travel, so just now I got curious about whether Kaohsiung happens to have an aquarium.  It does, but apparently it’s not such a great place to be a fish.

So, whether you have words of wisdom on keeping on top of recording mail, or favorite aquariums, or whatever… please do check in!

 

5 thoughts on “I am Losing Track! Sent to England, Israel, Malaysia, Netherlands, Russia, & Taiwan

  1. Unfortunately I don’t have any good tips because I’m much worse at recording mail, especially if it is postcards. Often I even send the cards off and forget to take a picture…. my brain just goes right to ‘it has a stamp on it so it needs to go to the post office as quickly as possible’…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

