It’s a Business Doing Pleasure with You: Received from Australia

This envelope arrived in today’s mail, completely intriguing me…

postcard876a

Whom could this be from?  Someone I know?  The return address is Annandale, New South Wales, Australia.  The sender certainly went to a lot of trouble, with all of the stamps.  I really love that rose coneflower, with reminds me of a sea anemone.  I love protea in general.

I open the envelope, and inside there seems to be a postcard & a letter.  I really wonder who sent this to me!

postcard876

No trees seem to grow here, but the concrete sure does reach for the sky.

Flipping over the postcard, it seems the sender did not write on it…oh–wait:

postcard877a

And this is where everything went sideways.

Oh, wait: the sender printed something & glued it to the card.  Why do that?  Why not write?  And then I look closer still.  Oh.  Oh.  He’s advertising something.  This person has a business, selling postcards.

How did he get my address?!? Then I saw the Postcard United i.d.  He’s using his account (and one on Postcrossing) to fish for clients & suppliers of images.  Obviously pumping out these messages as fast as he can get new postcard IDs, and just dropping in names & ID codes into a standard message.  Foulness.  So what’s this piece of paper?

Oh.

postcard878

postcard879

If a person’s email address begins “store@,” chances are they are not here out of friendliness.

Front & back, with his needs.

This reminds me of the time, long, long, ago, when I was job hunting & was called to an interview.  It was in the evening, and a lot of people were there to be interviewed.  We were all called into a room, and–given a pitch for a pyramid scheme, AKA multilevel marketing (like Amway or Mary Kay).  I told off the herders, letting them know it’s crass to deceive people who need real work, and then I left.

It’s so disappointing to have this happen on what’s supposed to be a fun, interactive hobby site. What a horrible thing to happen on Postcard United.

I mean, if I wanted to have a bad time, I’d log onto swap-bot.

 

OH! And swap-bot did give me a bad time today.

heartless

If you liked it, then you should have put a heart on it.

I sent this dog lover a dog postcard, with a dog stamp & dog sticker, among other delights. How much more “extra special” does it get than that? I really do think I need to start taping cash to my swaps.

To be fair, I did get a wonderful postcard today, one I really love, with a beautiful stamp & a nice food-related message…but I’ll save that for another post.  I’m having way too much fun grousing right now to spoil the mood by sharing that card.

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s a Business Doing Pleasure with You: Received from Australia

  1. Ha! Would you believe that I also received the same thing from that same person in Australia back in June last year? He put a French tourist postcard in an envelope and sent it from Sydney (Annandale) to me here all the way in Queensland, (I could have driven there quicker than the mail!) and there were heaps of old stamps on a used envelope to make up the postage. And there was plenty of advertising for his postcard site too. Yet another person who seems to have forgotten what the whole point of swapping postcards is all about.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got one of those today! Has the opposite of the desired effect on me, feels like such a soulless waste of a received card I have no desire to swap anything, even though I actually have something he wants…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s such a shame that people can’t just enjoy Postcrossing for what it is and take their marketing strategies elsewhere. I’m ashamed to admit that I was tempted to throw the postcard I got from him in the waste paper bin and be done with it, I didn’t, but for a split second I really wanted to!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

