Here is Really No Fun: Received from Canada, Germany, Greece, Japan, & the U.S.

I love this postcard of Astro Boy (AKA Mighty Atom) & friends which came to me from a sender in Tokyo, Japan, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum trade in which the person tagging looks at the recipients favorite cards, and sends one they think would be appreciated.  I do appreciate it, and I love the Doraemon stickers on the back, too!  Scroll to the bottom of the post to see those.  This card’s sender tells me:

“I have a 3-year-old son and a newborn daughter.  I work as a software engineer.  I sent you this card of ATOM!!  Wishing you peace and health from Japan.”

postcard905

I love, love, love that Astro postcard.

Then comes the Japanese food–NOT sent to me from Japan.  It’s from Riverside, California, in another Postcrossing Forum “see my favorites” tag, and the sender writes:

“I hope that you are having an especially lovely day today.  This card gives me a serious sushi craving.  I love a good rainbow roll.  Surprisingly, there are some great sushi places here in the desert.”

This Snoopy nengajō is awesome.  It’s another card from Tokyo, in a Postcrossing Forum Peanuts tag, bringing me “best wishes for a happy and prosperous new year.”  Wonderful Doraemon stamp on the back, too!  Nengajō: why, why, why is this not a thing here in the U.S.?  No new years greetings, and not much of an emphasis on the Lunar New Year… which reminds me of an NPR interview I heard this weekend with 97-year-old Chinese cuisine icon Cecilia Chang:

(NPR’S NEDA) ULABY: But as much as Chiang loves the Lunar New Year, she misses being in countries where everyone is celebrating it.

CHIANG: Here is really no fun.

Y U P !

postcard904

Then we have–donuts?–from Friedberg, Germany.  Sounds appropriate!  This comes my way thanks to Postcard United.  The sender tells me:

“I live here with my 74 year old mother and I take care of her.  I wish you all the best.”

More food, thanks to a swap-bot trade of recycled cardboard.  It came to me from Greece, where the sender wrote:

“Bye Bye 2016!  This is my last postcard for 2016 and that’s good.  Besides the famous people who died, I lost family & friends.  It’s been a lousy year for death.  On the other hand, we made a profit during ‘the season,’ we aren’t hungry and going further into debt.”

So there’s that.

COFFEE TIME! That came to me from Virginia in a swap-bot trade, and  it got me wondering as to whether Chase & Sanborn Coffee still exists, so I looked it up–and it does! It is now owned by the same Italian company that also bought up Chock full o’Nuts, and the company website taught some stuff about that brand:

“Chock full o’Nuts coffee houses are very widespread, especially in the Northeast of the United States. They serve top quality, 100% Arabica coffee, as well as the well-known date nut bread and a wide range of refreshing drinks.”

I HAD NO IDEA.

postcard906

Finally now, a card from another WordPresser! Melissa in Canada sent me a very Canadian card, indeed: flag on the front, hockey player stamps on the back!  You can see them, plus Doraemon, and all the stamps, stickers & postmarks below.

postcard908

postcard909

postcard907

Leave a Reply

