Tea, Honey, & Flying Vermin: Received from England, Germany, Japan, & the U.S.

Some incomings this time via Postcrossing, swap-bot, & a post pal–let’s start with the post pal, who is in Tokyo, Japan, and created this cool envelope.

postcard926

Inside, she wrote to me on two postcards.

postcard925

She wrote a little bit about the style of art, & her feelings on it:

“Do you have interest in ukiyo-e?  When I went to book store a few days ago, I found a postcards booklet of Hokusai Katsushika.  Actually, I didn’t watch them very much.  I thought ukiyo-e was very old, these are NOT cute.  Moreover I don’t like human or mountains very much.  I found flowers, bird and some interesting art in this book.”

She put both of those cards, and a teabag (“I’m currently drinking it everyday”) in the envelope–here’s the tea package, & the back side of the envelope.

postcard927

The Where’s Waldo card came to me from somewhere around Birmingham, Alabama, thanks to a swap-bot trade. the sender shared a Groucho Marx quote: “I intend to live forever, or die trying!”  I appreciate a postcard-sized Where’s Waldo scene: I was actually able to find him!

postcard921

Oof–then we have the peacock feathers.  No, no–it’s a nice enough card (it came to me from Hereford, England, via Postcrossing), but have a look at the back, please.

postcard922

Wacky.  And not in a fun way, at least not for me.

Needless to say, I didn’t understand a word of it.  I know that a fellow blogger I follow here on WordPress also received a card from this user, but I don’t remember whom, I’m sorry.  I tried finding out more about this user, and I gather it’s some retired guy.  I don’t know what he feels he is getting out of the service, but I have to assume it’s all on the receiving end.  Okay, what’s next?  Is this the old Microsoft Clippy?

postcard923

The card came to me from Germany via Postcrossing, and the sender tells me she works in a big financial firm during the day, and outside of that she’s a honey professional!

“Beekeeping is family tradition for more than 100 years and I’m proud to be a part of it.  In 2016 we got a price for the good quality of our honey.”

Something less tasteful up next: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace!  I got that from the Orlando, Florida area, thanks to a Postcrossing Forum movie tag.  The sender writes:

“Despite this being generally a pretty terrible movie in my opinion it’s actually got my favorite Star Wars character in it–Qui-Gon Jinn.  I really love him and wish he hadn’t died.”

Sorry if I just gave out a spoiler there, but honestly: if you haven’t seen the film: no need.

Time to show off the remaining stamps & stickers:

postcard924a

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

