Staredown at the P.O.!

Unexpected drama at the post office today!  But let’s back up just a bit.

I was so excited recently to learn that one of my favorite places, Hilo, Hawaii’s Lili`uokalani Gardens, was to be commemorated with its own postage stamp.  I was considerably less thrilled once I found that the image was not to grace a Forever stamp, nor a postcard stamp, but a $6.65 Priority Mail stamp.

liliuokalani

So beautiful, though.

I would have purchased these stamps in bulk!  I would have Postcrossed the heck out of them!  Lili’uokalani Gardens is one of the reasons I fantasize about living in Hilo.  Heck, I even shot the image of one of my self-printed postcards there.

john-cards-dale-daisy-hilo

Hilo is for lovers.

The good news in all of this disappointment over not having this stamp be at an accessible, daily-use rate, is that I found that: a) there is a group called the Friends of Lili’uokalani Gardens; b) they are selling a calendar packed with images of the garden (no, mine is not among them); and c) they are mailing out that calendar using the special new stamp!  I will, of course be ordering that calendar!

Moving back toward today’s issue, I had a Priority Mail flat envelope stuffed with goodies to send to a loved one.  I took it to the post office to the self-service machine, and within a few clicks, realized that the rate would be $6.65–or one Lili’uokalani stamp!  Woo-hoo!  I can decorate the envelope with a real stamp!  A real COOL stamp, that is!

So, I walked to the counter & asked whether they had the priority mail stamps.  The clerk said yes, but that they were “the old ones,” and that I’d need twenty cents additional postage.  Well, okay.  So I asked to mail my package that way.

And she got upset.

“WHY?  I can just print out the postage.”

But I wanted the stamps.

“You mean, you want to send this now, and buy the stamps to use next time?”

No, I want to buy the stamps for this package, right here.

“But I can just scan it!”

A silent stare passed between us.

I asked, “can I not use stamps to mail this?”

The silent stare continued.

Finally, she realized that someone asking for stamps must surely be insane, and she relented.

I’m not sure why.  Maybe there was someone behind me in line.

 

5 thoughts on “Staredown at the P.O.!

  1. It’s always strange to me when postal clerks try and take the “easy route” and just print a sticker label instead of using actual stamps. Luckily I have the sweetest postal workers at my local PO. A few times I’ve sent parcels to Japan, where the shipping was over $20.00 and I covered the parcel in stamps! My postal workers don’t mind bringing out their calculator to make sure I have enough stamps on there to cover the shipping costs. In fact, they always comment about the selection of vintage stamps I use and they always talk to me about all of the wonderful mail I receive!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This was my big post office, which is usually too busy for me to even bother going to the counter. I am pretty sure that if I go to my tiny local location, where I mail most of my overseas packages, the woman who usually helps me would be glad to humor me. Of course, they get less stock of all of the stamps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

