A Burger Topped with Tuna Salad? Received from Germany, Japan, Russia, Taiwan, & the U.S.

I got some cool mail from my post pal in Tokyo, Japan!  And it seems that “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown” has been on stage there recently–just look at the envelope she made!

postcard002

I love that postcard on the right, Pig-Pen & Peppermint Patty dancing.  It doesn’t show from my scan, but that seems to be a photo of original art.  The piece at a bottom, which I’ll use as a bookmark, was her ticket into the Snoopy Museum Tokyo.  She took some photos to show me, but first, let’s take a look at the back of her envelope.

postcard004

Okay, the photos inside the museum–and of her lunch.  Those statues are so cool!

postcard003

She told me about her visit (her 2nd time there):

“The theme was ‘Hello Snoopy, Again’ in this season (until April).  Snoopy is good at disguise, so there were many kind of Snoopy art as a vulture, penguin, helicopter, and so on.”

I love the old strips of Snoopy doing imitations. My favorites are when he copies Violet, Lucy, and even Mickey Mouse!

She told me the statue pictured is one of five in front of the museum, and she also told me the food was tasty, but she didn’t tell me what it was.  I asked her, and am still waiting to hear back.  I recognize the fries, & they look good.  Is that a burger topped with tuna salad?  Are those l’il corn dogs?

More postcards, more food!  Especially loving the two cards from Taiwan.  The delicious bowl of noodles came my way in a Postcrossing Forum “Taiwan meets the world” tag,” and the sender wants to talk movies:

“Last week I watched ‘Arrival.’  It’s interesting, really want to know my future, but impossible.”

postcard997

The card covered in food illustrations had been in my Postcrossing Favorites, and was sent to me in a forum tag just for favorites.  The sender writes:

“Greetings from Taiwan.  This card shows some of the most representative of Taiwanese foods.  Lucky that you live in California, there are so many Taiwanese immigrants (I was one of them) that offers authentic Taiwanese foods in Cali!  Give it a try! =D”

As I write this, it has been 2 days since my last stop into a Taiwanese food establishment!

The sushi card came to me from Georgsmarienhütte, Germany, via Postcrossing. The sender writes:

“I live with my wife in a small town (35,000 people).  We are both retired and enjoy traveling.  We prefer the sea, mountain hiking, and cycling along rivers.  One of our hobbies is playing pétanque, you know?  Now we are waiting for a nice springtime.”

I learned something!  Pétanque was a mystery to me, and when the description started out by saying it was a form of “boules,” I was more confused, still!  The most helpful description I saw pretty much called it horseshoes, but with balls.

Time for the last set of cards, starting with that lovely lighthouse photo taken by a Postcrosser in Taichung, Taiwan.  This was for a “photo you have taken yourself” forum tag, and the photographer tells me:

“I took the photo in Green Island, a volcanic island in the Pacific Ocean about 33 km off the eastern coast of Taiwan.  I love the beautiful place very much.”

postcard998

The drawing of the two people came to me from Karelia, Russia, via Postcard United.  The sender tells me the illustration is “of the Siberian fairy tales,” but I’m sad to say that she didn’t tell me which one(s).  If you know something, please say something.

Finally, there’s the San Diego postcard, sent to me thanks to a Postcrossing Forum “last trip/vacation tag.”  Flipping it over:

“Greetings from Arizona! I just got back from a road trip to San Diego. It was a lot of fun and I especially enjoyed the tour of the Midway.  Tons of things to see and explore!”

Time for all of the stamps, postmarks, stickers, & washi tape!  As usual, I’m especially enjoying the beautiful Taiwanese fruit stamps.  I had never seen the stamps on the back of the San Diego card before, and I mentioned it to the sender.  She said that during her trip, she found a stamp dealer who was selling old U.S. postage at below-marked price.  Cool!

postcard001

postcard999

The fish tape is pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

