The Case for Waterproof Ink: Received from Germany

This morning–and I don’t know why this happened–I opened my front door to find this on my doorstep:

postcard048

I don’t know how this beluga got where it was–it might have swam there, as it was raining all night.  Oh, and it’s not the photo part of this card I saw first; it was message-side up:

postcard047a

It’s amazing to me how this scan underplays how very smudged this card is.  Apparently my scanner needs to be calibrated, or something.  Do you see all the faded color behind the purple lettering?  Imagine it twice as dark.  And smudgey.

So many questions go through my mind:

  1. How DID this come to be on my front porch, about 14 inches from my door, exposed to the rain?
  2. Why did whomever brought it to me not drop it in my mail slot?
  3. Why did the sender (this came, you may have noticed, from Germany via Postcard United) write in colored ink on a floral field?  Colored inks are problematic.
  4. And why did that sender write part of that message across the address information?

Between numbers 3 & 4, I don’t really know what’s going on.  I mean, even the part of the message I CAN read–I just don’t know what’s going on.

I never know what’s going on.

I’ll assume, I guess, that the sender didn’t even know that the purple pen was filled with water-soluble ink.  And of course, the person didn’t know the card would be left on my semi-rainy front step–BUT–one can assume that any postcard, on its journey, may well encounter a bit of water on a floor, in a postal box, on a thumb–or something.

I use a water-resistant, fast-drying black-inked pen, and I always regret when I end up using a different pen.  Since joining the snail mail revolution, I’ve started buying these pens (which I learned about in a Mental Floss interview with a pen guy of some sort) in bulk.  It’s actually about time I ordered a 3rd box of 12.

Snail mail can’t win back the world, if it’s illegible.

Leave a Reply

