A Successful Hunt: Postcard Shopping Along the Interstate

Okay, neither of the roads I’m talking about–officially California State Route 1 and U.S. Route 101–are part of the Interstate system, but let’s not facts get in the way of a decent title.

I written a few times here about my complete failure to find any California map cards to replenish my depleted stock.  I see in people’s profiles & tag requests that map cards are often what they want, but recent trips to areas such as Monterey and the state’s northern coast have netted me absolutely nothing.  Well, a whirlwind day trip to San Luis Obispo County after a short morning work shift earlier this week put me in the pink again, state card-wise!

2017-04-20 07.25.20

2017-04-20 07.23.42

I think I ended up with over 80 cards, buying multiples of these and a couple of others that bear photos.  I bought them at three places where I usually buy postcards in the area: a tiny “super” market, a Rite Aid, and–the primary source, as always–a gas station!

The best news, considering the quantity I’ve purchased, is the price: I bought more than 60 at the gas station, and those were 35 cents each.  Expensive!  I mean, at the Rite Aid, where I bought fewer than 30 (I think), they were only 25 cents!

So what I’m saying is, I’m stocked up on state map cards again.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Successful Hunt: Postcard Shopping Along the Interstate

Leave a Reply

